Garage Sale Purgatory

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve written. I’ve been busy. Busy waiting.

I am sitting in a lawn chair, waiting for company. Strangers, actually. Okay, frankly, I just want someone to arrive and buy my crap. Yep, you guessed it. I’m having a garage sale.

Why do we do this to ourselves? Especially with children present… Have you ever tried to have a garage sale with kids around? It leads to heavy drinking. No matter what you put out, the kids “have to” have it. It could be ring worm ointment. The kids will just fall apart if you don’t let them have it. Seriously.

I asked the kids weeks ago to find some things they wanted to sell in the garage sale. I even offered to let them have whatever money we made from selling their stuff. They brought things like broken toys and games with missing pieces. Whatever, I put them out.

Yesterday was day one of the garage sale. Got things started at 8am. No one came for nearly two hours. However, I spent those early hours chasing my children out of the garage and away from every item, big and small. I had to all but frisk them to make sure they weren’t running off with things from the sale. About five hours in, their dad came and took the older two to the movies.  The baby stayed with me. Nothing like a cranky baby who needs to nap… running around like a bull in a china store.

Today, we had another 8am start. Again, no one arrived until after 9:30. (Note to self: sleep in next time!) So far, just a bunch of lookie loos. At least there are people! After an hour of ushering the children out of the garage, their dad took all three of them to the park. Now, it’s just me, the laptop and the dog. Oh, and a garage full of crap.

Now, I sit. Hurry up and wait. Waiting sucks. Did I mention I only made $58 yesterday? And nothing so far today. That’s less than minimum wage!

Ugh. Ladies and gentlmen- give me your ideas. What can I do while sitting here waiting? (For once with no kids present!)

UPDATE: Seriously, people. I just washed my dog in the front yard. What else can I do?

SECOND UPDATE: I have now shaved the dog. Help. Me.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clarice
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 05:59:25

    Are you having another one tomorrow? I might stop by since I’ll be in ER you’ll have to give me directions/address

    Reply

  2. Domestiç Reclusë
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 06:36:57

    I just stopped by to wish you luck! Sorry I don’t have any “words of wisdom” to share… I’ve only hosted 1 yard sale in my entire life, and although we did sell a few things, we didn’t get rid of as much stuff as I had hoped/expected to. I need to have another yard sale here soon, but I’m afraid that I won’t earn enough $ to make it worth the effort of sorting, cleaning, and selling all this stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

