Finding Mrs. Right

So, you’re back on the scene. Looking for Mrs. Right. Yes, I said Mrs. You’re on the hunt for… a mommy friend.

I have a few girlfriends who have left or are leaving state soon. One of them who just moved was commenting today on her Facebook page about the awkwardness of trying to meet other moms. She compared it to dating. And, it’s totally true. You spark up a conversation with another mom at a library, park or McDonald’s. Then what? You seemed to have hit it off. So, do you offer your number? Ask for theirs? What if they didn’t like you as much as you liked them? It can get weird. Fast.

How do you meet other Mommies? Compatible Mommies, that is. We can all meet Mommies, but finding one you like is a whole other thing. You probably shouldn’t hit the bars. (Save that until after you’ve been friends with a mommy for a while.) What about the grocery store? Are you looking for the mom with eternal patience for her children, to serve as a role model of what you aspire to be? Or, are you looking for the woman whose children are careening out of the cart while she attempts to read the nutrition label on a box of “Sugar O’s” while also balancing her toddler on her hip and yelling at those careening children that they will be lucky to make it till their next birthday if they don’t stop it and stop it now? (That’s the mom that makes you feel slightly better about yourself.)

You don’t want to seem too eager, but also not too standoffish. You need a just-right balance to put yourself into “cool Mom” status. But, if you seem “too cool” you will turn some moms away. It’s an ordeal. Kind of like when you had to pick out your man.

Ladies, how do you or did you find your Mommy Soul Mate?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 13:58:21

    I wish I knew. I used to have lots of Mommy friends when my kids were little and we were part of an organized playgroup…and I didn’t work. When circumstances forced me to have to get a job, out of all my close Mommy friends, I was the only one who went back to work. It was hard. They continued to get together regularly, but I was on the outside now. (that was when I was taking care of your little one 🙂
    Back to present day, and I don’t feel like I have any Mommy friends! Maybe I’m still gun-shy, or maybe it’s because of our family type. Mommies my age are usually toting little ones around, while I have teenagers. Mommies with teenagers are about 10 years olders than me, and thus in another stage of life. I don’t fit anywhere, and it’s hard.
    I’ve been trying to meet people at church, but being the ‘new kid’ in a church of 3,000 people is daunting.

    Reply

    • areyoudreaming
      Jun 09, 2011 @ 18:52:52

      Lisa, That is tough with such a big church! Small groups? Prayer groups? Womens groups?

      Aniela’s iPhone 🙂

      Reply

      • AKMistyrose
        Jun 10, 2011 @ 06:00:22

        I would suggest internet “dating.” Babybcenter. Com gave me 15 other mommies at the same stage as me. Thanks to our “birth year” group, almost three years, later I’ve got a great mommy friend I can “chat” with every day and she’s going through exactly what I am. And since its the internet we can do it while are kids are screaming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

