New Beginnings and Bloody Noses

We just returned home from celebrating my son’s preschool graduation and my daughter’s end of her second grade year. The graduation was emotional, a real tear jerker. The preschool my son attended is the same day care/ preschool my daughter first went to when she began kindergarten. They took her to and from the bus stop every day. She was so little. And now, my little boy is leaving there too.

I’ve been blessed to have some great day care providers. When my daughter was a baby, she absolutely adored her daycare lady. (She’s a regular visitor here, so here’s your shout out.) When I would go to pick her up, she’d cry because she didn’t want to leave. Those are the keepers. You could tell they cared about her, too.

The daycare my children have attended here is equally great. She is a retired kindergarten teacher. He’s a retired pastor and school bus driver. While they spoke tonight at the graduation, tears filled their eyes. They talked about watching our children grow up and treating them as if they were their own grandchildren.

The sentimental tears flowed and shortly after, the physical tears came when my daughter fell off their playground equipment while doing a trick. She fell on her face and knocked the wind out of herself. Her nose bled. And bled some more. She’s convinced she’s dying. Good thing I have a friend in the medical profession. That poor guy gets calls from me all the time describing various maladies.

And so starts Summer. New beginnings always start with blood, right?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    May 24, 2011 @ 23:27:47

    Thanks for the shout out! The end of the year is always bittersweet. This year has been SUPER challenging for me and I want to go out on a good note. I’m hoping blood is not involved.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

