Breastfeeding: A real pain in the breast

My breast is throbbing. And not in the Romance Novel kind of way.

My toddler has a full set of teeth. He’s dangerous. If you piss him off, he’ll show you what he’s made of. Ask his siblings. They’ve both tasted his wrath. Actually, he’s tasted them. I’ve written before about his biting. Typically, he just bites me. And he hasn’t been doing much of that lately.

The problem is, he has a cough. So, while we were just laying down and he was nursing off to sleep, he started coughing. And when he did so- he caught my nipple in his teeth. It hurt like a son of a you know what. But, if you’re anything like me, once you have a baby asleep you try anything and everything to keep them asleep. So, while it hurt like hell, I stifled my cries in attempt to get him to stay sleeping.

Then, he coughed again. And bit down again. The third time he did it, I yanked away as he started to cough. I looked down. Blood everywhere. All over me. And then I looked at him. He was like a little Count Dracula.

You know, when you are pregnant they tell you all about the joys of nursing. They help you through those first few weeks of latching on and sore nipples and then you’re on your own. Mastitis? Clogged ducts? Throbbing, red and swollen breast? Ladies, did you ever see any of that advertised when they told you the joys of having babies? NO! No one ever mentions you might just lose a nipple one day! (Mine is still here, hanging on…)

Surely you have a few tales of breastfeeding woe to share? And don’t even get me started on the whole “your boobs will never be the same again” complaints… (Feel free to say it yourself though!)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KalleyC
    May 20, 2011 @ 14:42:29

    I feel your pain. My daughter started biting me when she was 9 months old, and she did that off and on until she was 15 months. While she never drew blood, I was always nervous nursing her because I KNEW she was going to bite. One time I couldn’t hold back and cried when she bit me; she went on a nursing strike for a month.

    I didn’t know what felt worse, knowing that she’s going to bite me, or knowing that she wanted to nurse but cried whenever she got close enough to do so.

    Now that she’s around 2 years old, she is into acrobatic nursing. She learned that whatever angle she is at, she can nurse. So she twists and turns, and flips over me while nursing. Nursing her on the go is not easy.

    Reply

  2. Christy
    May 23, 2011 @ 23:39:38

    I would flick a kid on the cheek for biting my nip. Ouch!

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    May 24, 2011 @ 23:30:22

    Ouch! I cringed just reading that. Ouch…that’s really all I can say.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

