Playdate Drama

You’ve been on a bad date before. The guy won’t stop talking about his ex or staring at your goods. Or he’s a little too friendly. But, what if he takes your stuff and won’t give it back? In most states, that’s called larceny. In childhood, it’s called a playdate.

I watched a girlfriend’s two young children today while she packed and ran her last errands before she leaves state this weekend. Her kids and mine played well together. At first. And then our boys began the fighting.

“It’s mine!”

“No! Mine!”

“Get out!”

“Leave me alone!”

“Give that back!”

“Owww! He hit me!”

“He’s being mean to me!”

What’s funny, is that as I relayed this series of events back to my friend when she came  to pick up her children, I realized seldom is it when a playdate doesn’t contain some sort of drama. And the even funnier part is that when it’s time to go, the kids all say “I don’t wanna leave!” when just moments before that it was “I hate you!” and “I’m never coming to play at your house again!”

Kids can be so fickle and forgiving, mean and melancholy. It just depends on the moment.

All in all, it was a pretty good playdate. No blood was spilled and nothing was broken. Those are pretty much my standards. Oh, and the other kid didn’t go home repeating a new four-letter word they learned at my house.

Tell me about your playdates. Success stories are great but horror stories are better…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    May 10, 2011 @ 22:31:19

    Just think about this: as a PreK teacher I have that ‘playdate drama’ to deal with EVERY day, with 17 kids! Only we call it ‘center time’ 😉

    Reply

  2. Christy Cresap
    May 11, 2011 @ 08:45:43

    “Mom! She drew me with Short Hair like a BOY to just to Hurt my Feelings!” When I told her she could choose to be upset and sulk, or choose to talk to her friend about it, or choose to let it go, she let it go. Thank goodness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

