Spring Fever

All three of my kids are home today. If you read my last post, you know that the boys stunk up my minivan with their tummy trouble. When my daughter woke up this morning with a stomach ache, I decided not to tempt fate.

While sitting at home with the kids today (sitting is not as accurate a description as running around giving them sips of chicken noodle soup and anything else I can to get them to feel better) the phone rang. It was my daughter’s teacher. She said she was concerned my second grader was having trouble paying attention in class. Her teachers and I have a pretty good relationship. We’ve set the plan similar to Chicago’s “vote early, vote often.” They call when a problem first buds, so we can take care of it right away.

The teacher said the paying attention issue is likely just Spring Fever. It’s like the sun has turned on and their ability to listen shuts off. I have an entire other post I’m working on regarding the sun. It seems like a bigger problem here in Alaska.

So, folks- is Spring Fever working its way through your classrooms the way this stomach bug is working its way through my family?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. lamgold
    May 06, 2011 @ 20:19:47

    Oh my word is it ever! My students have been ridiculous the past 2 weeks! It’s always this way as the school year wraps up, so I don’t know why it always surprises me. Today it was so nice to just let them run outside at recess, and other than a few squabbles over turns on the swing, not having to constantly be trying to hold their attention was awesome. I honestly thought about extending recess for another hour or so, but I’m pretty sure the office would not have appreciated that since they were ‘holding’ my most challenging student since he lost his recess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

