Hi Ho Hi Ho… it’s off to work we go…

Stay at home moms and dads. We work, work, work and don’t get much pay. And we do it… every day.

Being a stay at home mom is expensive and cheap at the same time. We save money by not having to pay day care and gas to get to work, but not getting paid means doing more with less. The bills are still there and the pay isn’t. So, we try to find a way to bridge the gap.

A degree in journalism is nice and all, until you try to get a part time job. It works great when you’re trying to get a freelance gig. But, if you’re trying just to earn a buck at the local store, they think you’re up to something.

I gave my resume to a shop looking for some help. The owner seemed kind of concerned looking at it. That may have been because I mentioned I wanted to bring my baby along. You could almost watch the wheels turning in his head as he tried to nicely word “what the hell are you smoking?”

Moms and Dads- you know what we do at home. We multi task and we do it with one eye always on the prize. If it’s quiet- we wonder, what is the baby doing? A lot of us do some work from home. It’s a bit of a challenge, but we can do it… most of the time. Now, is it possible to take that work outside of our own homes and into the workplace, while accompanied by a toddler or preschooler?

I’d like your two cents on this one. Can you work at a public place of employment while caring for a child at the same time? And, if so, how?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 04:00:51

    It really depends on your child, and your type/place of employment. My first job was kid-friendly, my second job (same field) was not. I have my own business now, but my third child is higher-maintenance and makes it difficult to be as productive. Being self-employed somehow is ideal… (if your customers don’t like your kids being there, they can do business elsewhere, right?). Most of the jobs I can think of that are kid-friendly are lower paying, but no childcare is a big perk. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Christy Cresap
    May 07, 2011 @ 00:08:13

    Everything in life can be explained in terms of economics. Even the most complex human relationships and behavior. It’s all about cost and benefits.

    At the last job I had, they allowed me to bring my kids in a lot because having me there with or without them benefited them more than it cost them. Other jobs, not so much. It just depends on the environment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

