The Mommy Uniform

Yoga pants and an old t-shirt from a 5K I did a few years back. No socks. Hair is up in a messy pony tail. Not the cute messy kind either. This is my Mommy Uniform.

It took a few months to get the uniform just right. At some point today, I will change my clothes. Maybe even brush my hair. But, I’ve found getting dressed before noon is pointless these days. Usually, I’m running late to get the kids off to school and preschool and my attire is the last rung on the importance ladder.

Today, I made a big mistake in the morning routine and it ended in the Mommy Uniform having to be swapped out. I got the older kids ready for school, but forgot to change the baby’s diaper. We were short on time, so I thought I could skimp on this step. Never again! As I was dropping off my middle child at preschool, I smelled it. You know what. While putting the baby back in his car seat, I realized the shirt I was wearing (oddly enough another old 5k t-shirt from a different race) had a wet spot on it. And then I did something stupid: I smelled the wet spot. What did I think was going to be there? Coffee? Baileys? Nope, it was exactly what I thought it was. So, I had to go home and change into Mommy Uniform number two.

I’ve found there are varying degrees of the Mommy Uniform.

Mommy fatigues – the yoga pants, t-shirt, no socks and pony tail. This is usually reserved for at-home wear, typically not seen by others beyond family and close friends and those who spot you at the early morning drop off at school.

Mommy public wear- jeans and a casual shirt, possibly long sleeve t-shirt, and slip on shoes. Public wear is what you put on for the afternoon pick up from school, when people have actually had their coffee and will remember what you look like. Occasionally, this look is accompanied by lipstick and brushed hair.

Mommy semi-formal wear- brushed teeth and hair, maybe even slacks. You may see a Mommy wearing this to church or a baby shower.

Mommy formal wear- I’ve heard that some mommies get to go to fancy events before their children’s graduation. When I have witnessed this actually occur, I will comment more.

Mommies, tell me- what are you wearing? (Remember when that used to be a line that would mean something dirty? And dirty in a good way? Not one that meant another load of laundry…)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clarice
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 19:47:10

    I’m wearing black and gold chain stelittos (disregard spelling) with dress Capri slacks and a abstract print blouse. I totally do mommy casual wear on the weekends though 🙂

    Reply

  2. Amy
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 08:30:10

    I also wear yoga pants almost daily, paired with a $2 Target clearance top. I probably have no less than 8-pairs of each, in various colors. (These days I’m just thankful when something fits, and then buy several!!!) Fashion, along with my waistline, went away when I had a second child. Hope they find their way back eventually!

    Reply

  3. lamgold
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 19:30:02

    Lol, Amy. That’s what I do! I have two pairs of the same yoga pants in different colors that are my comfy weekend clothes. I work teaching PreK (still) and have to look somewhat decent. That means khakis most of the time, and I just switch up the tops. One of my students told me, “Mrs. Mongold, you ALWAYS wear that sweater!” the other day. I’m thinking I may need to invest in some new clothes.

    Reply

  4. Clarice
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 20:15:19

    Lol when I was a SAHM it was pjs til 3 and maybe a track suit every now and then but now that I work in an office where people can actually see me I dress up.

    Reply

  5. Christy Cresap
    May 07, 2011 @ 00:14:59

    I have a standard uniform of comfy bra, comfy shelf bra shirt, comfy girly tee over that with either jeans or pajama pants. On really, really fancy days, I take a minute to swipe on mascara and blush and lip gloss. Mostly my hair gets twisted around a pen or hair stick the second I get out of the shower and stays like that all day, unless I let it air dry down until it makes me nuts enough to take a sec to put it in a ponytail. I don’t have a lot of time for hair, make up, or fashion. I’m making more time for the gym. I have a lot of time for facebook. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Who Am I? « Mom Land

Leave a Reply

