Breast is Best: Got Milk?

My boobs are not my own. No, I don’t have implants. If you knew me, or saw me, you’d know that much is true. It’s just that in the last nine years, I’m not sure these two have had much “me” time. More like “munching” time. Three kids have been nurtured there. And child number three has gotten way more than the other two.

My two oldest kids both stopped nursing, on their own, at around nine and ten months. They just decided they were done and that was that. I was working full time, so most of the nursing was done at night. And one day, they quit.

Now that I’m staying at home, I’m nursing my youngest all the time. In March, I went to Mexico for a week. I brought my pump and the baby only drank water and juice while I was gone. (He ate food, of course. We’re not starving the kid.) My husband actually had him sleeping through the night. That is, until I came home. He was right back on the boob. And right back to not sleeping through the night.

My baby boy is 15 months old now. Apparently for some, that’s an obscene age to still be breastfeeding. You wouldn’t believe how many times I hear “HOW old is he now?” and “When are you going to quit nursing?” and “Isn’t he a little old for that?” Often, those comments come from close friends and family members. It’s not like in the movie “Grown Ups” and my little one is 48 months old. He’s a baby! For heaven’s sake, he can’t even walk yet!

Why is it that feeding a baby with our breasts is obscene in this country but wearing low cut tops is not?

The World Health Organization recommends breastfeeding until at least the age of two years. Some of you just let out a gasp. I know. It’s healthy for mother and child. It’s cheap. It’s easy. And to some, it’s offensive. Why?

A while back, another nursing mom friend of mine sent me a link to a video. It was all about breastfeeding and how good it is and how bad it sucks when you first start, but so worth it in the end. There was a line in there that said “Nursing- it’s what your boobs are for.” Actually, the word “boobs” was another word, but still… you get the point. It was funny and so true.

Why do we have boobs if we can’t use them for their intended function without being outcasted for it?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 07:33:39

    Argh, ignore the naysayers. Have people forgotten that cow milk comes from cow tits because it shows up at the store in a carton? Cow milk is ideal for calves, and human milk is ideal for our children. Even adventuresome adults too, apparently. You read about how popular the breastmilk ice cream was in London, right?

    Reply

  2. KalleyC
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 15:56:30

    I still breast-feed my daughter, and she’s turned 2 two months ago. I ignore all the people who say that she’s too old. In all honesty, she’ll know when it’s too old. If you’re son is enjoying it, and doesn’t plan on stopping and as long as you’re okay with it, let it keep going.

    The more they nurse, the less sick they get. As Amy said, cow’s milk was made for calves, why are we drinking that?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

