Minivan Singalongs

The morning commute used to be me, a car full of kids getting dropped off at their respective schools or daycare, and then a half hour of silence, solitude and a cup of coffee on my way to work. Oh, how times have changed.

Now that I’m a stay at home mom, the morning routine has evolved. Usually, it goes something like this:

7:40 am- my alarm clock goes off. I panic, realizing I’ve hit the snooze button for an hour. I dash out of bed to make sure the older kids are awake and ready for school. Usually, I find them glued to the TV in varying states of undress. Sometimes they’ve eaten, other times the only thing they’ve consumed is an hour of TV while mom slept in.

7:45 am- as I throw my pants on and try to get the baby’s coat on and the kids in their coats and boots and backpacks and lunch boxes and… geez- anything else that accompanies them… I try desperately to make a lunch for my  daughter and some sort of breakfast for both older kids, if they haven’t eaten already.

7:55am- by now we’ve entered the raised voice attempt to get the kids in their coats and ushered out the door. Wait! Did anyone brush their teeth?

8:00am- kids are in the car getting buckled up and fighting over who gets to sit in the middle row of the minivan.

8:05am- I’m rushing back in the house to grab a cup of coffee. I’ve tried skipping this step. It does not end well.

8:10am- we are backing out of the driveway and I am vowing to not hit snooze again tomorrow.

8:15am- a mix of calm ( now that we’re in the car) and panic (we’re still not at the school and she only has 15 minutes to get there) overtakes me. We say our morning prayers.

8:20am- the car radio goes on. These days, the CD player has the same two Christmas CDs in it. The ones sung by kids. It rides the fence between annoying and inspiring, depending upon the song and the day. This morning, my kids asked me to skip what they considered to be a boring song, of course it was the song I wanted to listen to. But, I’m glad I skipped it. The next song was “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer.” I couldn’t help but smile and thank God for my life as we all immediately burst into song, in unison. What a great start to the morning! And, I still got my coffee.

It’s a much different commute than I was used to, but I gotta tell you- I love it!

What singalongs are you having with your kids?

Leave a Reply

