I know you’re JUST a stay at home mom…

A friend from my college years is a stay at home mom with four kids. I don’t know how she does it. In her “free time” she also runs and operates her own editing business. I’m amazed at what this woman can do. So, you’d find me even more amazed yesterday when she mentioned a woman she knows called to ask her a favor and began the conversation with “I know you’re just a stay at home mom, but…” I’m not sure I would have heard anything she had to say after that.
Why is it that people assume being a stay at home mom means you’re living a life of leisure like one of the moms on Desperate Housewives? Let me be the first to tell you, it’s so not like that.
I was a producer. Think “Broadcast News” and the Joan Cusack character running like a chicken with her head cut off to get a tape on air in time. Yeah, it was crazy busy. But, it had nothing on being a stay at home mom.
Half of the time, I’m still in whatever I woke up in that morning. My hair has no semblance of being done. In fact, the other day  it was going on six pm and I realized I hadn’t even brushed my teeth. There’s all these expectations and no actual way to accomplish them.
Beyond the logistics of getting a kid off to school and trying to settle an over tired baby, while also getting the house clean, there’s the impossible task of keeping a four-year old entertained… at all times. It’s not humanly possible!
At least at work, I got a coffee break! I last saw my four-times-reheated coffee mug sitting on the changing table.
In no way am I using my journalism degree by changing diapers and doing 17 loads of laundry a day. But, I’m doing way more than that. I’m struggling to handle the challenge God gave me. And those three crazy kids keep me quite challenged!
As my college buddy (who is one of the smartest women I know) put it to the clueless woman on the other end of the line, the choice to stay at home is not about sitting at home eating bon bons. It’s balancing everything while getting nothing, in terms of respect, from a few clueless “working” moms out there.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mara
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 03:04:45

    Love your site!! This mom stuff is tough, but it’s the best thing in the world!

    Reply

  2. Cora's Blog
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 17:42:47

    Wow… our posts are so similar its uncanny!!! I hope you finally got to drink that cup of coffee… As for my degree, I use it every day. Accounting degree used to determine how much formula (or diapers) I have left before I have to make the emergency run to Walgreens!! Really enjoy your blog!!!

    Reply

  3. raisingvevi
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 11:48:28

    Hahah you just voiced every SAHM s feelings in this one! i am still a relatively new SAHM and everything is still sinking in!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

