Welcome to Mom Land- now open 24/7

Yesterday, I quit my job. It wasn’t that it was horrible or not fulfilling. My reason for quitting was to stay at home with my kids. I have three. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out that paying for day care for three kids really adds up.

Until about a year and a half ago, I was a successful journalist. Then, I left my job as an Executive Producer at the local TV news station to take a job teaching media. Just a month in to my new job, I found out I was pregnant with baby number three. I worked through my pregnancy and came back to work after the baby was born. But, in teaching… you get the summers off. It’s great, but you realize how much you miss when you’re not around. As the school year drew nearer, I realized I couldn’t leave my now six month baby.  So, I quit.

Being a mom always used to conjure up images of women who had it together. They got the kids off to school on time, always looked presentable and kept the house immaculate. So far… no good. It’s 11am, my kids are still in their pajamas and so am I. The dishes are in the sink and the baby is ready for a nap. (That’s just a nice way of saying he’s crying.)

Mom Land is my journey… adventure… challenge… of living life as a stay at home mom.

Wish me luck.  This is just day one!

Leave a Reply

