Mama’s Grumpy

What’s that expression, “When Mama’s not happy, ain’t nobody happy!”

Yeah… that pretty much sums up my entire weekend. I was in a mood. And no one was safe from my big, bad case of the grumps. The kids were… to say the least… not listening well. I’d had enough of repeating myself. And the kids knew it.

Around the time I put my toddler in time-out, they finally caught on that I was not pleased with their lack of listening skills, and they started trying to make up for their offenses.

My daughter came over to me and started rubbing my shoulders. She said, “Mama, don’t be stressed.” Then, my seven-year old son walked up with a butterfly he’d cut out of construction paper. He handed it to me saying, “Here’s something pretty for you to hold on to when you’re in a bad mood.” Yeah, apparently, I, occasionally, get in bad moods. When knew?

After a brief talking to with myself (and some Advil) I concluded I was being a total grump. What do you do when you get a case of the grumps?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bonnie Melielo
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 14:48:28

    Sounds more like PMS and you needed a good dose of chocolate!! :-)

    Reply

  2. Miranda
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 15:40:14

    My husband asks a few questions when I have a case of the grumps. “Have you eaten?” And “Do you have a head ache?” those are the top 2 reasons for a grumpy mom in our house. Sometimes I tell my kids I need a time out. If I’m cooking dinner an mommy needs her time out she can’t leave the kitchen but the kids can go play in their room not as a punishment but to give mom some space. (my husband and I don’t use the kids bedrooms as a timeout/banished to your room for bad behavior space.) We all need space and there is nothing wrong with that. I try and help my kids also realize they each need their own space sometimes and to say so out loud and everyone in the family needs to respect the request.

    How sweet your kids are to notice you were having a bad day and want to help make things better. Those are the good memories. Better tuck that paper butterfly away for a later time to reminisce. Mine are only 7.5 and 5 but they have changed so much in their short lives. Enjoy the moments! They don’t say young forever!

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Oct 18, 2012 @ 19:59:08

      Miranda, sounds like your husband is pretty insightful. It’s good he knows how to help you. I’m pretty blessed to have an awfully sweet hubby, too. My kids are wonderful. They say some crazy stuff sometimes – hence the blog! But, I love having this as a way to look back on all the nutty things they say and do. :)

      Reply

  3. Carrie
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 15:44:54

    There must have been something in the air! Yesterday I was on a mission and clutter was the enemy! No one and nothing was safe. Frankly something has to change within me so I am looking for suggestions with the Grumps. It is to early in the winter to be this upset.

    When safe my husband suggests to go change out of my grumpy pants. And sometimes, a change of clothes does actually help.

    Reply

  4. Erin
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 16:41:18

    Whaaaaat??? A bad mood? who me? NEVER!!! Yeah ok I’m lying ;-) When I get grumpy (and when I do It’s baaaad) If I can I try and separate myself from everyone IF I can, but all us mamas know how difficult that can be (hence the grumpiness) If I can’t get away then I’ll put a movie on for the kids, and go get a book for me, and a pair of headphones. Oh and a good cup of coffee, and some chocolate!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers

