Overheard in the Store

Big shoe sale today at Nordstrom. I am not a girlie girl. If you know me and you’re reading this, you are laughing at the simple thought of me walking in there. I am everything unfashionable. My jeans are too short. I know that, but I wore them anyway. I didn’t even brush my hair today. So, there. But, we’re not talking about that. This post is about my experience at the shoe store. And, for the record, I only went shoe shopping because my doctor has banned me from heels. That part makes me sad.

At the shoe sale – women were clamoring over each other to get to the discount shoes. Heels, pumps, flats, sandals, boots, you name it. While most of us appeared to be on our lunch break, there were a few moms with kids in tow. That is never an easy task. Your children know this and they are prepared. Once an item of clothing comes off, they are bound to make a run for it. They know you can’t chase them. Again, I digress.

There were a few moms at the giant shoe sale. Moms who were pleading with their children to behave for just a few minutes. Then, I overheard a mom say to her daughter, “Mommy wants to look at these shoes. Can you please give me a few minutes?” To which her three-year old daughter replied, “Yes, mommy. You have 11 minutes.” I shot a look at the child, expecting to see her with a stop watch in hand…

My question for you today: What is the funniest/weirdest thing you’ve ever heard said between a mom/dad and child in public?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mae
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 14:26:52

    I did not know there was a sale… why did you tell me this!!?? MUST RESIST URGE!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

