I Woke Up in the Crib

Parents, we’ve all been there, right? Middle of the night wake-up calls by our children. You stumble, exhausted, to their rooms to deal with whatever it is that has woken them – bad dream, wet the bed, thirst, etc… And sometimes, just sometimes, you fall asleep in their room.

The other night, my two-year old woke up crying. It was about an hour before my alarm clock was set to go off. I was tired. All I wanted was to lay back down and go back to sleep. I calmed him down and patted his back. He reached over, lovingly, and grabbed a fistful of my hair. I wasn’t going anywhere. Eventually, he fell asleep and I tried my best to sneak away. No luck. He woke up and cried again. Yes, yes, I know all the parenting books say you need to let them learn how to fall asleep on their own, blah, blah, blah. I was tired and clinging to that last half hour of sleep, so I did what all exhausted parents do: I crawled into his crib and we fell back asleep.

Okay, it’s not really a crib… it’s a convertible toddler bed. Either way, it was a bit snug. I woke up about an hour later, with my husband standing over me, telling me it was time to get up.

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve done in parental exhaustion mode?

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peggy
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 12:53:03

    Sort of parent-related….The other morning, I woke up with a headache around 5am. I went to the medicine cabinet to get some aspirin but also had on my mind that I had to remember to give my daughter her ADHD medicine later that morning. In the half-awake/half-asleep fogginess, and without thinking what I was doing, I opened *her medicine, put one in my mouth, and had a glass of water halfway to my mouth when I realized what I was doing!

    Reply

  2. Gerry Kay Balluta
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 13:44:12

    When my daughter was a baby, she didn’t sleep, hardly ever. Which of course means that I didn’t sleep much, ever. One time in the wee hours of the morning, I of course was awake as usual. I remember this particular time that I had been going on nearly 3 days with a few hours of sleep at best. I deliriously made my way to the kitchen where I proceeded to make my baby a bottle of formula. In my sleep deprived state I took a lunch size bag of Doritos, and smashed the chips up into little tiny bits and peices. I then poored them into the babies bottle, and then fed her. Well low and behold she zonked out. She actually slept until just past dawn. Upon waking with her and entering the kitchen I surveyed the strange mess on the counter, empty Dorito bag, dorito crumbs, formula spillage……OH NO!!!! Did I really do what I think I did? I ran into the living room by the chair that I sit in with her, and sure enough…….an empty bottle with soggy little Dorito peices stuck to the sides of the bottle, and a little bit of a orange formula in the bottom. I was mortified that I had done this, however……….I will admit that during subsequent “No Sleep Marathons” I did think about doing it again, because afterall she did fall asleep right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

