The Land of Forgotten Toys

There is this place – a place where toys go to die. It’s called… the toy room. In our home, it’s a room off the back of our utility room. Its best feature: it has a door we can close to hide the filth. Its worst feature: it has a door we can close to hide the filth. Because, it is times like this past weekend that pop up out of nowhere, when I enter the toy room and find unimaginable disasters – like this.

Can you find the floor in the room? Yeah, me either.

My kids don’t even enter this room. The room was designated as a place to put all the things, all the stuff, that would normally be left out and otherwise stepped on in the middle of the night. Unattended toys were banished to the toy room. But, as they say, “Out of sight, out of mind.” My children have forgotten about the toys in the toy room.

It is this image I kept firmly in my mind as we went to the State Fair yesterday. Because, sure enough, my kids asked me to buy them more stuff. I am proud to say, I didn’t. Why would I? Look at the amount of things they don’t play with! The toy room is riddled with birthday gifts, Christmas stocking stuffers and other toys given to them throughout the year.

I posted this picture to my personal Facebook page the other day, when I first encountered the horror behind the toy room door. My friend messaged me with a response that was just too good not to share.

I dig this. I plan on instituting something like this in the future. But, I have to deal with today first. Do I just donate the toys to charity? Let some other child who might actually be appreciative play with them? Do I box some of them up and leave others out? Do I shut the door to the toy room and vow never to open it again?

What would you do?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 14:38:37

    I was gonna suggjest the toy jail until i scrolled down, and saw ya already had that idea… how about donating them to the Women’s and children’s shelter?? when my twins outgerew their bassinets (we paid almost 100 ea) I didn’t know of anyone who needed them, and I didnt want to sell them so i took them to the womens shelter..so many times they have to leave a situation quickly, and leave things they need behind, so they were very greatful for them. also for the kids, it may be a good lesson in donating to the less fortunate, sometimes gives them a new perspective on things.

    Reply

  2. Bonnie Melielo
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 14:45:12

    If the kids have really not played with those toys in a month or more it is time for a charity run!! Now, have the two older kids help you box them ALL up. When they spot a toy that they simply can’t part with make them a deal: it could be purchased with allowance dollars (amount to be decided by you), it could be traded for a toy in their room that they do want to part with. In any case I would definitely have them participate in the clean-up!! and be sure to let us know in a future blog how it turns out. :-)

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Aug 28, 2012 @ 13:54:49

      Bonnie, There are so many electronic toys these days. My husband and I have made a real effort to get them moving and not sitting on their butts all the time. Although, we do let them watch movies here and there. Last night, it was a family bike ride. No time for toys! (Or cleaning…)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 359 other followers

