My Dirty Little Secret… Exposed!

I’ve been married for a little over a week now and my new husband just confronted me about my secret shame last night… my sock basket.

I have this basket. It’s where I keep all the orphaned socks in the house. You know, the ones left behind when the gnomes come and steal your other sock at night. Lonely and desperate, these single socks are abandoned. I keep them, together, huddled in an old laundry basket with hope that one day they may find their long-lost mate. Or at least I did, until last night.

 

My husband dumped my sock basket on the floor of our children’s’ room.  We began to sort them by child, or by who we thought the socks belonged to. The piles grew. And they grew. And they grew. Some of the socks I didn’t even recognize. How were these little socks appearing from thin air? There were pink toddler socks! My only daughter is ten years old. I haven’t been keeping my sock basket for that long!

We paired as many socks as we could. Some were just close enough matches. Oh, and apparently, mismatched socks is the new thing. My husband told me our six-year-old informed him, “matched socks aren’t cool!” and went and set aside the matched pair he had to find a mismatched pair.

When we were left with a pile of true singletons… he… he…. I can’t even bear to think about it.

HE THREW THE SINGLE SOCKS AWAY!

I gasped in horror. Literally gasped. I don’t know what I had planned to do with all these single socks of various shapes, sizes and colors. But, surely they were good for something! (I even considered making a sock quilt. I don’t know how to quilt, but I could have figured it out…) No, he said, “No more sock basket.” He threw the singles away and set aside the empty basket for actual, non-solo-sock, laundry.

So, here we are. They do say every marriage has its give and take. We give our children the chance at fashion trends with mismatched socks. And, we take away my long-running tradition of single sock hoarding.

What do you do with your singles?

 

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bonniegm
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 21:06:58

    Ha, Ha I love it!!! My basket is on the top of the dryer. However, I finally did get to the throw away point and it is so liberating!! Tell your husband I applaud his efforts at reorganization!! Now I only keep them for a couple of months and then out they go! The gnome’s name is The Soxy by the way, Ask Misty about him. :-)

    Reply

  2. erin
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 22:22:11

    Bwahahahaha!!! Ok, I’m not laughing at you, I’m laughing because it feels so good to know I am not alone in this!! :-) I too have a sock basket 2 actually one with no mates and one that holds all the folded matched ones..( seems easier than putting them in 5 diffrent dressers) I firmly believe dryer lint is the the cremated remains of all the missing socks!! Yep guess we all have those dirty lil secrets ;-)

    Reply

  3. KalleyC
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 07:10:03

    So I wasn’t alone keeping the single socks. After sometime, I just throw them away. If I really can’t find a pair for it, it wasn’t meant to be. But honestly, I would really like to know what happened to the sock that was lost.

    Reply

  4. Wendy
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 10:07:44

    For years I only bought my children Hanes white athletic socks because I was so traumatized by my mother’s sock basket! All socks matched and I didn’t have to know whose was whose. I had to give up that ploy when my daughter started refusing to wear socks that might have touched her brothers feet… Now she wears mismatched socks.

    Reply

  5. Ann
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 10:08:32

    I too keep a small basket of socks. The only difference is when socks come out of the dryer they go right into the basket and about once a week I go through it and match them up. After about a month or so you realize you keep seeing the same lone socks with no match for it every coming out of hiding. I go up to my kids rooms and check in, and under beds, closet floors and corners of the room to find the missing sock. If I don’t find it the sock either gets thrown away or I use it for a dust rag. If you have little kids give it to them to use as a sock puppet.

    Reply

  6. tricia
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 10:14:06

    I sort our solo sock pile every once in a while and put the left overs in a box so that I can use them for throw away dusters or rags. They work so well.

    Reply

  7. becca
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 10:16:58

    I took an old pillow case and a hanger made a hanging single sock basket for my closet. I got the idea from a hanging diaper holder when my daughter grew outa diapers and it got filled with the runaway socks. Now my single basket if filled with strange socks from sleepover, my daughters to small undies, old bikinis , and scrap material I will never use ( but I might):)

    Reply

  8. Jenn Miller
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 10:21:44

    ALL of my socks are in a Rubber Maid tub, my friend even know about the “sock box”! I don’t like folding socks at all. Every once in a great while my 9 year old decides its time to place “Sock Go Fish” a wonderful sock matching game he made up for the whole family. Just like it sound we grab socks and play go fish. My husband is also know for throwing away socks! I don’t know why I find it so frightening but it makes me gasp every time!

    Reply

  9. Laura
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 10:23:34

    The part about the gnomes made me laugh. What I do with our single socks is I wait about a month and if the match doesn’t turn up the singles gets turned in to rags. Some I leave whole for dusting others I cut up for washing things like the car. My daughter loves to dust if she can have a “shock” to do it with (she’s four).

    Reply

  10. Kim
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 10:31:45

    I have a sock basket, but I make an attempt to find it’s match. I wait until all the laundry is done and then if their are socks that are still in my basket they are generally my daughters who is now 7. I will send her into her room to search for the missing sock. Nine times out of ten we will find it shoved into a corner or put back into her sock drawer. And other times I swear the washer ate them. After a year of them sitting in the basket with out a match I throw them away. I figure if they haven’t shown up by then they aren’t coming back.

    Reply

  11. Cindy
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 10:38:51

    I buy my oldest son the same socks, he can just grab 2 and go. I do the same with my husband. No mating required. I mate my middle son’s socks, but his singles are at the front of his drawer. I go through them every once in a while. The 3 year old and I both have a sock bag. All of our socks go into the bag and we can grab a pair, or mismatched pair and go. Lost socks are usually found under the washer, the dryer, or behind them. When I was growing up we had a full side shopping cart for our socks (there was 8+ in our house)

    Reply

  12. Julie Selves
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 10:43:33

    I too have a sock basket.

    Reply

  13. Kort
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 11:23:04

    My mom has a sock basket — I throw the singles in the drawer and eventually, when we run out, dig deeper to see if their mate is in there and they just got into separate loads of laundry…

    Reply

  14. Kristie
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 11:41:42

    Love it!! I also have the infamous sock basket and my husband HATES it. About once a month I try to weed it out, but it just keeps growing. My girls love to wear mismatched socks…it seems to be the latest trend in teens.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Aug 02, 2012 @ 15:18:04

      Kristie- moms everywhere are breathing a sigh of relief that kids are finally going with the whole no-match thing. Sweet. It’s like Punky Brewster! Remember her?

      Reply

  15. Paula Whitaker Whisenant
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 09:17:59

    Gasp! I can’t believe he threw away your single socks! I, too, have a sock basket. I get so excited when I finally find a match to a sock that has been in the basket for a while. My son is two years old now, and I still have newborn socks in the basket. I’m so thankful to know I’m not the only one who hoards single socks! I also have a drawer of mateless mittens, but perhaps that’s an entirely different post! ;-)
    Paula

    http://www.paulasserendipity.blogspot.com

    Reply

  16. Sw
    Aug 05, 2012 @ 10:24:46

    When we lived in Texas on a military bade we had a large court yard and was great fun. We Set up in the courtyard n did a picnic n had awards for the kid n mom who matched the most socks . We would hold up pink sock with ruffles n then yell n the kids would dive on the pile of mounds of color hopefuls we the exchanged based on kids n sizes. Thanks for great memory tickler.

    Reply

  17. Jocelyn Amber Potts
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 19:44:08

    Maybe your toddler girl socks are shrunken socks? Sometimes I get that brand new pair in the wash and they don’t come back to me the same size!

    We buy one kind of plain sock for every person in the house (so we never wear another person’s socks) and have very few designer socks- the way I keep socks together is I never wash one sock without it’s mate.
    It’s an extra minute or two, but it pays off, and lonely socks just stay in the dirty laundry (usually an top of the dryer so they don’t get missed) until it’s pair comes along for the next load of it’s color.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

