Sorry for the Brief Delay…

Sorry for the brief delay, friends, I was busy…. getting married!

It all went well, with the following minor exceptions:

Our minister friend’s computer ate our ceremony – thank God we had a backup file!

My daughter/flower girl panicked once she saw all the people and only agreed to walk down the aisle when her Aunty came and led her away by the hand.

The coffee we had at the reception was, in fact, only hot water. We’d forgotten to add the coffee… details, details…

My six-year-old son refused to take family photos after the ceremony, in part, I think, because I wouldn’t let him wear his, “handsome suit.”

The rain insisted on arriving early to the party, which meant my husband, my brother, his wife and myself were standing eight feet in the air on a wet log, in the rain, attempting to build a pergola the day before the wedding so we’d have someplace dry to say, “I do.”

My youngest son insisted I pick him up during the ceremony and wanted nothing more than to yank off the shawl I was wearing… which he ultimately did. I drew the line at holding him on my hip during the wedding…

We forgot to have theĀ  minister and the witnesses sign our marriage license and our minister had to drive the two hours back to us to do so.

The morning after the wedding, we woke to the sound of a raven giving his relatives a friendly beacon call to come on down for breakfast at our place. We managed to round-up all the trash before his first guest arrived.

Yes, I suppose that about sums it up. But, I’m leaving out the very best part: I got to marry the sweetest man on the face of the Earth and my kids get an awesome step-dad out of it! Oh, and I get four new and wonderful sons in the mix. Oh, and a daughter in law and two grandkids! So… not to worry… it looks like I’ll have fodder for this blog for quite a while.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KalleyC
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 06:01:27

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you! Wow, you do have a huge family you just acquired on top of your own. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

    Reply

  2. bonniegm
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 07:25:06

    I think it was one of the most meaningful ceremonies I have ever been to. Absolutely beautiful and completely full of love and commitment. Wishing you a lifetime of love and celebrating your family together.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

