Overstaying Your Welcome… in the Womb

I have two girlfriends who are pregnant. Overdue. Waiting. Just waiting for their children to be born. One of my friends already has a child, so she knows what she’s in for. The other is a first time mom.

It amazed me each time I was pregnant how badly I wanted the baby to come… that is, until labor started. Once those contractions hit, I was like, “What the heck was I thinking???!!!!” Gentlemen, this is about the time your mate starts calling you names and telling you never to touch her again.

When I was in those last few days/weeks of my pregnancies and I wanted nothing more than for my baby to come out already, I was given and tried many suggested options to start labor, including:

Eating Basil

Spicy food

Sex

Walking around

Nipple stimulation (via the breast pump. It sucked. Pun intended.)

Jumping around

Cleaning the floor

Patience (that one never worked….)

My gift for my two expecting girlfriends is this post. Moms/Dads/Grandmas/Grandpas… what is your advice for getting those babies out?

 

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathelyn
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 10:07:45

    Squats. Appear fly that worked for my friend. I was 2 weeks overdue and I tried walking, sex and cleaning, but I had to get induced.

    Reply

  2. Mommy2Maris
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 10:15:33

    Bouncing on a Yoga ball! And walking!

    Reply

  3. Ann
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 10:18:34

    Taking walks, sex to completion if you get my drift, not sure why the nipple stimulation has to be with a breast pump if you have a willing partner…. Other then that I’m not sure that there is really anything else that really works. I don’t recommend being induced unless it is medically necessary. I was given that option with child #3 and I regreted it. My 1st labor was 5 hours my 2nd was 3. I was tired of being preggers and opted to be induced, 16 hours later, an epidural which I had never had before and a broken tail bone she finally came. I should have just waited and let her do her thing it probably would have been over in 2 hours.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jul 16, 2012 @ 10:56:20

      Ann- that was my experience, as well. They stripped my membranes the third time. I bled. It was awful. And it took a heck of a lot longer!!! Sometimes, you should just let nature take it’s course.

      Reply

  4. Heather Swanson
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 10:59:54

    Long ride down a bumpy road. Thane Road in Juneau is perfect… lol otherwise, circle through the construction zones.

    Reply

  5. Janice
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 11:01:04

    Never ever jump. The safety of you & your unborn should not be jeopardized. That being said, I’ve heard of people going into labor using castor oil but that’s completely against dr recommendations. Walking worked for me, not just walking at the end of your pregnancy because I tried that with my first pregnancy and ended up 12 days late. With my 2nd pregnancy, I walked everyday and also carried my (then) 25 lb firstborn son everywhere I went. My 2nd pregnancy I was only 4 days late but only because I didn’t know my water had been slowly leaking. Otherwise I could have delivered on my due date. Best of luck to the expectant mothers.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jul 16, 2012 @ 11:02:48

      Janice- I had to re-read your comment, as I thought (at first) you were saying you had a 25 pound newborn! Walking everyday really kept the weight off my third go-round.

      Reply

    • Jocelyn Amber Potts
      Oct 12, 2012 @ 13:19:11

      I used Castor Oil with my first pregnancy because all of the other natural suggestions weren’t doing anything- not even stimulating contractions.
      It’s a laxative, so be warned! It’s the constant bowel movements that stimulate labor.
      I’ll never take it for that purpose, again!
      It DID work, though. I had two friends that also tried it after I mentioned my success, and their attempts failed.

      Lesson: It really only works if the baby and you are truly ready, and I’m sure the same goes with any method of inducing that doesn’t require a medical license.

      Reply

      • Mom Land
        Oct 15, 2012 @ 14:22:55

        Jocelyn, I wish I wouldn’t have tried to speed things up. You are right – babies come when they (and you) are truly ready.

  6. TaterTot and Bubbas Mommy
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 11:19:51

    Orgasms, not just sex.

    Reply

  7. Holli
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 12:01:21

    I know Western medicine is split on it, but castor oil and orange juice works great. 2 tbsps oil to a cup of OJ. What it does is stimulate the bowels to empty so that extra stimulation can also throw the body into labor. The good news is that if your body is NOT ready then you will have some pretty cleansing bowel movements and still be pregnant. No harm, no foul. Worked for me and I had two at home with a midwife.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jul 16, 2012 @ 12:05:21

      Holli- I had my last at a midwife, too. But I’ve always heard castor oil can be a real problem since it dehydrates you. Then again, everyone poops…

      Reply

  8. kimberlee
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 06:25:47

    Lots of walking if possible and drinking raspberry tea worked for me. :)

    Reply

  9. davidgunderson
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 12:57:54

    airplane rides work too my wife was only 7 Mons and she all most had the baby i have had 9 kids with her and i got a lot of tricks i have learned hope all gos will for you

    Reply

  10. KalleyC
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 10:56:21

    I’ve heard of bouncing on a yoga ball and walking would do the trick. With my first one, she came on her due date. Keeping my fingers crossed for the second one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

