8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 17:22:13

    If i can i go in there and play with my kids, i do. there used to be a bounce house in eagle river and I had a blast taking my kids there and playing with them. I feel when a parent takes their child out its all about them, put the computers and cell phone away and spend some quality time with them..they grow up so fast we have to enjoy themal and make fun memories for them!

    Reply

  2. Kathleen
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 19:45:27

    I think the answer is dependent on several factors like age, confidence level of child, if the child is an only child.. etc. When my children were younger, I was always playing by their side (often holding hands or a child) at the bounce houses, play grounds, swimming pools and even our play room. I needed to be because they were growing their social skills and confidence levels and I was teaching them how to play, how to meet other kids and all of the other lessons kids learn from playing. My two children now age 5 and 6 are good friends, both very social and perfectly confident playing without me in a play center and making new friends. I think it is important that children learn to introduce themselves to other kids and form friendships on their own and they now do that with ease. They come up with creative ways to play on their own and I love that. I do watch from the sidelines, give play suggestions if needed, mediate if necessary (pretty rarely needed) and I always take time to reinforce the positive things I see like including a shy new friend, sharing, creative play ideas, safe play……etc. With that said, my husband and I still play daily with our children. We steal a chance to bounce in the bounce house whenever we can but that is probably more for us than the kids to be honest. They know how to swing by themselves now so I swing in my own swing or enjoy visiting with a mommy friend while they play with their kid friends. That is good for me and I believe it shows my children that I value friendships too. I am swimming right there with them just a little further away. We ski with them but during our 3rd season last year we were in the chairlift behind them (and usually a friend), always within sight but not on top of them. At the same time we are playing and having fun with them we are growing confident, kind kids who can play safely on their own and with other kids their age.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 20:33:56

      Kathleen, it is important to teach kids how to include others. My daughter is a little social butterfly. Anytime we go to a playland, she is all over it. She has about 20 new best friends by the time we leave!

      Reply

  3. Jean
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 23:36:33

    We are usually right there playing with the kids, until we are out of energy.
    It is a lot of fun playing with them, if the play land allows adults on the equipment.

    Reply

  4. Amanda Scacchi
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 19:57:16

    What exactly is The Ice Cream Social? Would it be a good place to have my daughter’s 1st birthday party? Great post, by the way!

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 20:49:34

      Amanda, thanks for the compliment! Ice Cream Social is in the strip mall across from Mc Donalds. It’s the end store. I think it’s just a place to play and eat ice cream! You might want to check it out – do a pop in – before you commit to a birthday there. If you want, I can ask some of my Facebook fans where they would recommend for a first birthday party. Let me know! Thanks for reading. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 359 other followers

