Cleaning Your Kids’ Plates

Do the calories really count if you are eating the leftovers off your child’s plate? Lets pray no.

How many of us moms and dads have put on a few pounds after cleaning off our kids plates the old-fashioned way? “Oh, looks like little Jimmy didn’t eat the rest of his chicken nuggets. Well, we don’t want those to go to waste, now do we?” Yum, yum, yum… five pounds later…

Tonight, I made my kids one of my childhood favorites: angel food cake with whipped cream and fresh fruit. We used strawberries as a kid but my kids wanted blueberries. It was still tasty. So tasty, in fact, that when my six-year-old son said he didn’t like the cake part, I happily gobbled it up for him. Feel free to remind me of this in a couple of weeks when I complain that I look fat in my wedding dress.

Having been raised in the era of the “Clean Plate Club,” I wonder, how many of us feel obligated to eat the remaining food off our kids’ plates? When there’s some food left, but not enough to save for tomorrow, what do you do: eat or toss?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 10:16:59

    It all depends on what it is! :) I hate things going to waste, so if it isn’t enough to save, sometimes i’ll eat it..tho usally its one of my 4 year olds not finishing, and with a growing 7 year boy, he is usally more than happy to finish what his siters left.

    Reply

  2. Johnny
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 11:53:03

    We play this game every time the kids go to McDonald’s play land. Trying to get them to sit down and eat is like pulling teeth, so of course there is always food left on the table. Leftovers aren’t really an option here either, as most of this food doesn’t exactly keep well. So invariably, I’m left with a table full of of bad for me food bits that I hate to see go to waste, both because of the principal of it, and because I just paid money for it. Replacing the fries with apple wedges helps somewhat though.

    Reply

  3. ❤Clarice Murray❤ (@hunnyakaclarice)
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 12:36:32

    Honestly if it’s dessert I’m all for just a couple weeks ago I was astonished when my little boogerbutt didn’t want strawberry french toast with whip cream and strawberry syrup (we ate out) so I happily ate all of it. But if it’s something like nuggets, or a meal meal i toss it unless the other boogerbutt (hubby) will eat it. Mind you most of the time he doesn’t want to waste money so he eats it.

    Reply

  4. kalleyc
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 12:41:59

    I really don’t like cleaning things off the plate of my daughter (or mine), so I usualy let my husband do it.

    Reply

  5. Suzanne
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 23:40:38

    I thoroughly enjoy your posts! You have a gift with words: you make me smile, laugh out loud or choke me up. It’s so refreshing to hear honest and real comments about life with kids. I’m happy to hear your daughter is feeling better. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding. I’m sure you’ll look amazing!

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 16:32:23

      Suzanne- thanks! I strive to share honest-mom moments. It drives me nuts reading about “perfect moms” who never make a mistake. Thanks for the well-wishes for my girl and the wedding!

      Reply

  6. andrewwbrysonzm
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 12:08:13

    Reblogged this on Andrew Bryson Site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

