Rent a Mom?

I’m working from home today. My daughter’s sick. I’m sick. She’s 103.3. I’m 101.3.

You may recall, my sons were just sick a few weeks ago. I missed a lot of work staying home with them while my six-year-old had pneumonia and my two-year-old had an ear infection. Now, it’s my daughter with bronchitis. She can’t go to school, which means I’m home for the day.

Since I knew this ahead of time, I asked my boss about it yesterday. I’ve run out of leave/sick time with my kids being sick SO often , so, beyond becoming an indentured servant of my employer, what could I do?

They graciously agreed to let me work from home, but also gave me a homework assignment: find a trusted person/service who can stay home with my sick kids when I can’t. My boss (also a single mom of three) says she used to use a “Rent a Mom,” for a lack of a better word.

Surely none of my friends who would be home would want my sick kids around their healthy kids. So… do any of you know of such a service? What do you do when you don’t have any more leave/sick time available, but have to take a day off because you or your child is sick? (I’m pretty sure my coworkers aren’t too appreciative that I was coughing/sweating all over everything yesterday in the office.)

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 11:27:27

    Without family or really good family friends – I don’t know what I would do. I have been pretty lucky in daycare – for a few years, my best friend watched my daughter full time. So even when she was sick most of the time, she would still keep her – they had all been exposed already… And my mom takes her now. But traditional day-care situations are hard. Working from home is a great solution, if it works for your job.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jun 22, 2012 @ 12:45:19

      Carrie, yes you are pretty lucky! Glad you had a good friend to watch your kiddos. All my good friends who are SAHMs have kids of their own they don’t want exposed…

      Reply

  2. Bonnie Gallentine Melielo
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 11:28:28

    When I was teaching I had an older, retired woman who was my emergency sitter. Perhaps there is a way to tap into retired nurses?

    Reply

  3. Wendy Shipton
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 12:09:13

    Wow, I am so glad I read this. I like the retired nurses part. My mom was a community health aide for a very long time and is my best resource for the children, but I know sometimes she likes her freedom and with a graveyard shift she doesn’t get much of that. If my kids got sick I really don’t have anything set up and look forward to the great ideas I’m sure this blog will spur.

    Reply

  4. Mara
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 12:11:36

    Call your church and find and older lady:)

    Reply

  5. Amy
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 23:16:02

    I tried googling “sick child care in Anchorage” and came up with some program at Providence called mildly ill childcare, but I’m not having luck opening it on my phone to see if it’s the right type of thing. I would also recommend calling Child Care Connection or the muni’s daycare licensing for some referrals. Hope you’re feeling better now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 359 other followers

