Kids Can Be SO Mean

By now, you’ve probably seen the video of the bus monitor being bullied by kids. It’s awful. They make her cry. While I think it must be horribly embarrassing to be Karen Huff Klein, the woman being bullied, I also wonder what it’s like for the parents of the kids who were bullying her.

Do you think these kids behave at home for mom and dad and then act like this on the bus? Or, do you think these kids are just as big of jerks to their folks as they were to this bus monitor?

How can you ensure your kids are behaving respectfully, when you’re not around to watch?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alaskanmommy
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 13:18:21

    I think what is happening is that they kids are so use to getting away with it because there are so many parents that have the mentality “not my baby, there must have been a mistake” or “my baby most have been provoked”. I have been in a middle school recently, and I was astounded by the way the children acted. Even in Elementary this behavoir is there. As parents we are responsible, how many times has a parent snapped at a teacher, another parent, etc. in fornt of their child. What kind of behavior are we setting examples of? I agree with the woman that stated as parents we should be ashamend. I can honestly say my children would not act like this, and if they did, not only would I walk them to her house to appoligize they would be working in her yard/house until I think they have learned to show respect to their elderst.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jun 21, 2012 @ 13:29:05

      Alaskanmommy, middle school kids are kinda jerks, in general. When I was teaching, it was that age group that talked back the most. Ugh. Hormones…

      Reply

  2. erin
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 13:28:00

    These lil’ brats need some good old fashiond dicipline!!! I think they act this way no matter where they are, because they are allowed too act ugly at home. Yes, there are kids that are taught dicipline in the home that still act like this so they can look “cool” to their buddies, but for the most part parents now days aren’t parenting… I feel so bad for this lady, I am pretty sure I wouldn’t have shown that much restraint!

    Reply

  3. Julie
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 13:50:08

    I work at an elementary school and have noticed that as the kids grow older (aound 5th/6th grades), many of them become more disrespectful. My opinion is that kids usually behave better for adults other than their parents, so if these kids are acting like this to an adult outside the home, you can be pretty sure they get away with being disrespectful at home. Those kids were also completely lacking in any sort of empathy for this woman when she started to cry. How do they treat their own grandmothers?

    Reply

  4. Diane Kellar
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 14:18:20

    I drove a school bus for a few years. I drove for elementary kids, as well as middle school. I was very lucky with the group of middle school kids that I had on my bus. They were well behaved and always treated me with respect. I live in a small community, and have since had the pleasure to watch these kids grow up and become adults. Unfortunately, hormones do drive middle school age kids to behave in manners they wouldn’t have at home, and even the most obnoxious of kids at that age eventually do grow out of it provided they have positive guidance to get them through to adulthood. I watched this video with my middle school age son, and I cried. I told him if I ever heard of him treating another human in that way I would whop his butt. Yes, I still believe in old fashion spanking, and very fortunately for me, I can not remember the last time I had to use that form of punishment. My children know how to respect, and get respect in return. They also know that their behavior has consequences. Unfortunately in todays day and age, many children don’t learn that lesson and it leads to behavior such as this video.

    Reply

  5. Akmomof6
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 15:17:07

    Parents need to start taking responsibility for the actions of their kids. The children need to learn consequences. The bus driver could have taken some action also. Hard work is required for students like this. And letters of apology. Not to mention what ever the school district finds appropriate for the offense.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jun 21, 2012 @ 16:26:55

      AKmomof6, I totally agree with the letters of apology. I’ve had my daughter write so many of these kinds of letters, she writes them on her own now, without being prompted!

      Reply

  6. Lisa
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 15:38:55

    I agree with what you all are saying. If these kids are behaving this way in public, it can only be worse at home. Probably the example set for them. Which is sad, but it’s today’s society in general. The only way to counter act it is to raise our own kids to be kind and respectful to everyone, and hold them (and ourselves) accountable!

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jun 21, 2012 @ 16:27:46

      Lisa, very true. We need to hold people accountable – at every age. From road rage, to the jerk in front of you in line at the grocery store, we need to call people out when they are being rude.

      Reply

  7. AKMistyRose
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 16:31:19

    I think that a lot of these kids are acting the way the adults in their lives act. I know A LOT of adults who behave no better than these children. There is no such thing as “do as I say not as I do.” I would bet that these parents are the ones who write hurful comments on Facebook, troll the blogesphere to flame other users and take pictures with their smart phones of “people that are dumber, uglier, or worse off” then they think of themselves. As a society we need to clean up our collective acts and start treating others the way we want to be treated and the way we want our children to treat others. I believe there’s some kind of “rule” about that?

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jun 21, 2012 @ 16:51:45

      AKMistyRose, you are very right. In fact, I’m sure you’ve read a nasty comment on two by a reader of this blog. I also see it on Facebook a lot. People seem to think that words don’t hurt. Sticks and stones, people. Sticks and stones.

      Reply

  8. John C. Ivanoff
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 02:43:44

    I was a stay at home,dad,so my kids,grew
    unseating all ways respect your elders.for
    That matter treat people,the way you want
    too be treated. I have heart, problums. I try
    and tell my son’s,treat everyone like thy
    have a heart problum. Thak yous. and please
    Go far these days. I grew up during the
    (70)!!! Those were the good old days.
    Hop this was not too long
    John…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 359 other followers

