The Future Files

I mentioned the other day that my daughter’s 10th birthday is quickly approaching. It’s now 12 days away. She’s counting.

The other day in the car, my six-year-old son and I pretended to call her. She was in my fiance’s car. I did the old pretend phone to the ear trick… but with a twist. This time, when I called her, I pretended that my “future” daughter picked up the phone. We held a conversation (okay, is it still a conversation if I’m changing my voice pretending to be me one minute and her the next?) and talked about what it’s like for her in the future. I pretended she was 27. That really got me thinking. Do you ever sit down and wonder what it will be like to talk to your kids as adults?

There seems to be this magical age, around the mid to late 20s, when you stop being a jerk and realize your parents might actually know something. This would be the age I’m imagining having the below conversation with her.

“Hi Sweetie, how are you?” I’d ask.

“Oh, I’m fine. Work is good. Busy, you know.” She’d respond.

After that brief exchange, my mind goes wild with the possibilities. Where would she be working? Would she be enjoying life? Will she be married? Will she have kids?  What will she be doing in her free time? Will she be happy? Where will she live? Will she still wanna chat with her old mom?

My daughter is a wonderful and creative, sweet and loving child. I see her face changing into that pre-teen look every day and I see my time with her at home dwindling away. I want her to grow and have a lovely time doing it, but I also want to pull her into a bear hug and keep her there. She hugged me this morning and started jumping up and down realizing how tall she was standing next to me. It’s happening. She’s growing up. I’m honored to be a part of that process.

What would you ask your child, if you could talk to the future them?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 14:49:01

    I like to “brainwash” my children with who loves them the most. I do tell them I love them, but when we have a moment I ask them “who loves you?” and they say “Momma you do and its a lot!”…warms my heart everytime. When any of my kids are in their 20′s-40′s I would like to still ask that and they still answer you do. My goal personally is that they will never doubt my love for each and every one of them and that no matter the choices they make in life they will know that I love them. Especially when they are going through the awkward teen years and I’m wanting to strangle them :)

    Reply

  2. erin
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 15:41:38

    I am not sure what I would ask, I just would like to se a glimps into their future, and know I did the best I could as a mother, raising them with good values. I would (and do) hope they stick to those, and become responsible, caring adults.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

