School’s Out for Summer!

Today is the last day of school, at least in our area. Cue up the song, “School’s out for summer…”

This is the first summer in quite a while that I’ll have to work. I was a teacher for a while and got two summers off, then I was doing the stay at home mom thing. Now, it’s back to work and no summer vacation. It’s very anticlimactic.

My kids are so looking forward to summer vacation. But, since I have to work, that means they’ll be at summer camp all day. Which means, they’ll still be getting up early. Isn’t sleeping in the pride and joy of summer vacation? My poor kids…

When you think back about your own summer vacation, what did you enjoy the most? Mine were always spent hanging out with the neighborhood kids, playing in and outside of the house and coming up with dance routines to perform on the lawn. (Many a performance was created to the tune of “We Built This City.”)

These days, I cannot fathom leaving my kids out in the driveway to play. It just flat-out freaks me out.

So, again, the question for you: What did you enjoy most about summer break when you were a kid? Consider this your final exam of the school year.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    May 17, 2012 @ 10:56:33

    I rode my bike, played with neighborhood kids, explored, climbed trees, played in my dad’s old broken down station wagon, pretended, picked flowers, ate popsicles, went to the public pool, the beach, had sleepovers.

    I try to do those things with my kids too, summer is short and should be relaxing but fun filled!

    Reply

  2. Jenn Miller
    May 17, 2012 @ 11:03:50

    I rody my bike, played with neighborhood kids, explored the lake, went to the creek, slept in, cleaned house, stayed at a friends house, went camping, etc. I try to do as much as I can with my kids, but my favorite part as a kid was the feedom.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      May 17, 2012 @ 11:19:17

      Jenn, you cleaned the house. Yep, that was part of my summer “fun” too. My mom always left a list for us that we had to complete before we could go play.

      Reply

  3. Carrie
    May 17, 2012 @ 11:04:21

    My “We built this city” routine just went flashing through my head. Yeah, we were outside and camping. Luckily, my daughter will be with Grandma instead of a camp, so she will still have to get up early some, but only to crawl back into bed at their house.

    Reply

  4. kalleyc
    May 18, 2012 @ 04:25:46

    Hmm, sleeping in, watching random TV, going out to play, then one week before school, try reading all those books that I was supposed to read during the summer. Seriously, I don’t think any teach really expects their students to read books that are really not comparable to fresh air and sun shine.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      May 18, 2012 @ 16:49:24

      Kalley, maybe go for a bike ride and bring the book along with a picnic? Um, yeah… who am I kidding? We have kids… we’ll spend that entire “picnic” chasing them….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 359 other followers

