What’s for Dessert?

When I was a kid I had a favorite book. I checked it out from the library constantly. It wasn’t a fairy tale or an adventure story. It was an old Disney Cookbook. I loved that thing. I only ever made cookies, but I flipped through the pages every time I checked it out, looking at all the various options, especially in the dessert section.

In my house growing up, a meal wasn’t complete without dessert. My parents are both great cooks. My dad used to make Baked Alaska, for goodness sake! This fondness for dessert has stuck with me over the years. It’s a hard habit to break. Unfortunately, it’s a habit my kids have learned from me. It’s a running question at my dinner table, “What’s for dessert?”

On Saturday, I watched a friend’s two kids overnight. Five kids. Two pizzas. Her daughter approached me, about four bites in to her small slice of pizza, asking, “Is this enough pizza so I can have dessert?” Considering the kids had just returned from the video store where they had shared a bag of candy like it was their last meal on earth, I told her she’d already had dessert. Surprise, surprise, she begged me for something to eat a couple of hours later.

I’ve been trying to instill healthy habits in my kids. Often, they will ask me, “Is this a healthy choice?” when examining a box of cereal or bag of chips. My love of ice cream has never wavered. Ask any of my friends. I typically have a couple cartons in my freezer at all times… But, I’ve also taught my kiddos about the power of frozen grapes. They curb your appetite for ice cream, while still satisfying your sweet tooth.

Do you offer dessert to your kids? How often? Is it a nightly thing? Weekly? Only on special occasions? And while we’re at it, do you give your kids a bedtime snack?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Felisha thomas
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 13:07:26

    I do not have any children but I do help my younger sister with her 2 (almost 3) yr old….what we do for dessert is have a cookie or something like that a little bit before bed….my mom always kept cookies in the house…we would get a “good” dessert on holidays/birthdays/ or every once in a while…but my moms motto has always been “If you do not have room for dinner, you do not have room for dessert.” hopefully that helped you some

    Reply

  2. Miranda
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 15:39:58

    Oddly my kids don’t ask for sweets that often. I have about a 7lb pile of easter candy sitting on my counter they don’t even ask if they can eat some. I have talked with my 7yo about how our bodies need a lot of healthy food to make us feel good and only small amounts of ‘treat’ foods. My husband and I try our hardest to keep some foods treats, it gives them a healthy resect for foods they should not eat everyday. Sugary cereals are not allowed in our house but they can eat all of the lucky charms they want at grandmas house. We only eat at fast food resturants about once a month, and desserts are not an everyday thing. The other night I was chowing down on a huge(homemade) ricekrispy treat and my 4yo turns to me notes I am eating a ricekrispy treat then asks if he can have a pear for a snack. Maybe I have weird kids.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Apr 16, 2012 @ 19:58:08

      Miranda, I used to catch my kids “sneaking” yogurt out of the fridge. Give them a carton of berries and they go hog wild! Now, about those rice crispy treats… yum!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers

