It’s the Middle of the Night

I’m pretty sleepy today. I got the kids off to bed on time last night. Put myself to bed early. And still, I’m tired. The culprit? My six-year-old son. He came knocking on my door in the middle of the night, 2:09am, to be exact. He asked, “Did Grandma text you?” (Grandma and I own a house together.) He says his legs hurt (a common complaint for the poor little guy.) He wants an ibuprofen and to be tucked back in.

It seems most nights, I get a knock on my door. Sometimes it’s my nine-year old saying she had a bad dream and asking to sleep with me. Other times it’s my six-year-old with the leg cramps. And still other times it’s my two-year old crying and wandering aimlessly, needing to be walked back to his bed.

A friend told me about these cool clocks you can put in your kids’ rooms that shows one symbol when it’s still night-night time and another when it’s day, and a suitable hour to go see mommy and daddy. (Wonder if that works for nine-year olds too…)

Babycenter has a pretty good article on dealing with late-night visits. They suggest offering incentives to keep the kids in their own beds. We had a similar approach in the past, giving the kids three pennies each night if they stayed in their bed. If they got out, they had to give a penny back and so on. You get the drift.

Do your kids still wake you up at night? What’s been your best solution to teaching your kids to put themselves back to sleep?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. woodley2005
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 17:02:30

    I would so love to get one of those clocks.
    My almost 6-year old has the leg cramps, coughing fits, night terrors and just bad dreams that wake her up – but she expects us to come to her. She usually goes right back to sleep though and doesn’t remember it in the morning.
    The toddler still has the crib, but somehow ends up in our bed halfway through the night, every night. Oh yeah, cause we’re too lazy to try and get him back to sleep in his own bed :( Personally, I find it hard to fall asleep without his sweet little snuggles :)

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Mar 27, 2012 @ 09:13:10

      Woodly, Oh man. I do love and miss the snuggles. Don’t miss the foot in the face wake-up though! :)
      As someone once told me, they won’t still be sleeping in your bed in college.

      Reply

  2. Taryn
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 21:30:18

    Oh boy, the sleep issue :)
    Charlotte is only two, so I feel I can cut her some slack for awhile. I’ve gotten her down to only 1 night waking and as much as I grumble about it at 2am I must confess that, like the above commenter, I also kinda like the snuggle time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

