What’s for Dinner?

My post the other day lead to a lot of emotional responses, as well as some pretty insensitive ones. So, today I thought we’d take things easy.

I forgot to take anything out of the freezer this morning. My question for you folks is: What do you serve to your family when there’s nothing thawed? What’s your go-to meal? I made my kids eggs Benedict the other night and they scarfed it down. Simple and quick.

What’s for dinner?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 15:17:56

    pancakes! when all else fails breakfast for dinner! :)

    Reply

  2. Justina Meyer
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 15:47:23

    Dressed up Ramen noodles.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 21:05:36

      Justina, How do you dress them up?

      Reply

      • Justina Meyer
        May 09, 2013 @ 14:12:59

        when I’m boiling the water I add in a few frozen vegetables. When the noodles are done I top it with sliced leftover meat (chicken, pork chop, steak, etc.) and then add a sliced up hard boiled egg. My kids love it!

      • Mom Land
        May 13, 2013 @ 21:09:57

        Justina, that sounds yummy – and easy! That’s a winning combination in my house. :)

  3. Clarice U (@hunnyakaclarice)
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 15:56:34

    our dinner tonight is lasagna my dear hubby made enough to feed half an army forgetting there’s only 3 of us. I’ll be eating the stuff for the next week. But at least it’s good :)

    Reply

  4. Miranda
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 16:03:46

    Here are my top 5 I forgot about dinner dinners…
    1. Breakfast for dinner: eggs, pancakes, french toast, oatmeal add in a smoothie
    2. Rotisserie Chicken from Freds(I tried carrs but theirs were skimpy in size) French bread and some quick microwave potatoes from birds eye.
    3. Spaghetti no meat just sauce and noodles. Add in a salad and some corn and its a go. sometimes I get some other type of noodle like penne and put the noodle and sauce in a casserole dish cover with cheese and bake until bubbly.
    4. Taco meat: can be done a variety of ways regular tacos, burritos, over baked potatoes, in a baking dish with crescent rolls for a crust top with sour cream and cheese bake until crust is cooked top with taco fixings…
    5. My favorite Pizza from our favorite pizza joint.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 21:07:23

      Miranda, We landed on a pizza. A nice coworker gave me a Papa Murphy’s coupon. We had the bacon cheeseburger pizza. It was filling and yummy! I like your taco meat ideas!

      Reply

  5. Lisa
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 18:17:10

    That’s easy: cereal if I’m really not in the mood to “cook”. I consider grilled cheese and nuked Campbell’s tomato soup cooking, but I usually have that stuff on hand, and there’s no thawing required.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 21:08:14

      Lisa, no thawing = awesome. We seem to be going through bread like it’s going out of style! Not sure I’d even have enough for grilled cheese!

      Reply

  6. Sara
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 21:26:23

    Nachos. Chips, cheese, a can of refried or black beans, guac, and sour cream.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

