“Mom, Am I Fat?”

At some point in their lives, both of my older children have asked me if they are fat. They are not, by any means. However, that  got me thinking about why they would ask such a question. My daughter has to wear slim jeans. This morning, I had to tighten the adjuster bands (what an awesome invention, by the way!) on my kindergartener’s jeans to a level that was so tight it was ridiculous. They aren’t anorexic, but they are pretty darn skinny!

When I taught high school, I showed my students the cover of a magazine with Kelly Clarkson on it. She looked skinny. Then, I showed them a picture taken the day after of her performing at a concert. She looked at least 50 pounds heavier. Oh, the beauty of Photoshop. I explained to my students this perceived beauty concept and how magazines with tiny models on the covers were warping reality.

Today, I read an article about Israel banning skinny models. They will require models have a body mass index of at least 18.5. And, if the editors of a magazine trim down a model with Photoshop, they’ll be required to note that. This sounds like a wonderful plan! Imagine a whole generation of girls not saying, “I’m too fat” or “My thighs look huge in this skirt.”

Have you folks heard comments from your kids about their weight? What do you tell them?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trudie Jones
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 12:36:44

    It is hard for me to believe this is a REAL person, looks like a really bad photo shop job!!

    Reply

  2. Tara
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 05:13:05

    I always get upset when the comercial of Holly Madison (The ex playmate of Hugh Hefner…what ever her name is) where she struts her already skinny self into a store to trade her skinny jeans in for an even skinnier size…the message it sends makes me sick.

    True, people told me that I was skinny in high school but I never tried to be skinny nor noticed it when people would make comments.

    But I heard recently that a size 6 girl is now being used to model plus size clothing…not sure if it’s true but it makes me sick that some of society only except a person as pretty or beautiful if you can see all the bones in their body…

    Reply

  3. Frost
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 11:04:44

    All through school (elementary, junior, high school) I was the skinny girl. The girl who was teased for being to thin. Chicken legs, Bean pole, etc. It didn’t matter what I ate I never gained a pound. All my friends were always on a diet and I was always the brunt of their cruel jabs about my weight. As I grew up and had children of my own I realized that these women where all over the world, and their comments only became more rude and filled with undertones of hatred. I watched as year after year they put on the added pounds that ultimately come with having a child and aging, and they routinely run each day to the gym while staring at me with disdain. I have now watched my daughter go through the same scenario with girls/women as she has grown. I remind her that she should love who she is and not be worried about those that can not love themselves for who they are.
    Our world is made of people of all shapes and sizes. Thin, Large, Tall, Short, Etc.
    Yet women can not seem to love themselves, they sit in judgment, ridicule, and are filled with such contempt for others.
    In Italy they have three of the most beautiful full figured models (Tara Lynn, Candice Huffine and Robyn Lawley)
    I do believe that before people post they should do more research! think about trying on the other shoe before you begin to sit in judgment!

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 14:37:16

      Frost, A reader the other day posted that we are made purposely. I love that. It’s beautiful. If we were all skinny or all fat or all medium, we wouldn’t be special. But, it’s funny how we always want what we can’t have. I curled my hair this morning. My two best friends have naturally curly hair. They straighten theirs. I curl my straight hair….

      Reply

  4. mizunogirl
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 15:48:14

    While it’s true that we all want what we don’t have, I think that dealing with weight is much more important that hair color or curly or straight. I applaud you for working with your daughters to have them understand they aren’t fat at all, and to encourage them to be able to see themselves as they are. What does scare me is that I see some obviously overweight kids, and their parents deny it, saying, “She will grow out of it” (We are talking about a 9 yr old that weighs as much as I do as a 5’2″ overweight adult). what we do with food impacts our health so much more than a lot of the other things that we do with our appearance!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers

