Babies, Stunts and Valentines

I have a feeling the title of this post sounds somewhat like the book, “Eats, Shoots and Leaves.”

My best friend (The Baby Whisperer) had her baby yesterday. Yay! When I told my kids this, their first question was, ‘What did she have?” There was no excitement. They just needed a gender. “A boy,” I answered. “Yes!” said my son, in a near-proclamation. “Tell (name of my best friend’s daughter removed for privacy) I’m sorry,” said my daughter. She knows what it’s like to have two younger brothers….

Speaking of babies, my kindergartener decided my best friend should name her youngest one of the following:

Batman

Hulk

Stupid Pants

Or any combination of the above.

Onto the stunts… this same kindergartener decided the other day it would be a brilliant move to mount his sled at the top of an icy slide at the playground. As he attempted to snowboard it down in death-defying fashion he said to me, and I quote, “Kids, don’t try this at home!” Funny how those disclaimers always seem to get used the wrong way.

And, lastly, we all know Valentine’s Day is tomorrow. My ex-husband handled the valentines for the kids’ classmates this year. But, it got me thinking about a few years ago, when I was a stay at home mom, and I decided to make homemade Valentines with my daughter. For her entire class. This was fun… for the first valentine. Then, she lost interest. Then, I was making the valentines. Then, I lost interest. Then, the cutesy valentines suddenly turned into a sloppy pile of crap. I glued hearts on construction paper in half-ass fashion. The thrill was gone. All I was left with was pink paper, glue and my own impatience.

So, with great trepidation, I ask you all… what are your plans for your kids for Valentine’s Day? Pink pancakes? Hand-made valentines? A box of chocolates? What do you have in store for the kiddos?

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kalleyc
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 16:04:27

    We did cookies for the home. We decided to celebrate it early, since by the time Mr. C comes home, she’s sleeping, but he was home today.

    It was fun. Everyone helped out to make the cookies, and I couldn’t pry them away from the sweets with a bat. I’m just glad that I made soup for dinner.

    Reply

  2. AKFrost
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 18:21:35

    I love making Valentine Day special for my children. I don’t like to give them candy (or should I say cavities) but there are so many other options.
    As fast as our children grow they are always in need of clothing so here is one day to buy them something they really need and mix it up with a little fun (funny pj’s, cute dresses, tee-shirts etc)
    Throughout the year I look for small items that can add some fun to what may seem like a boring gift. This year I found coupons for kids. They have some very fun and creative ways for kids to earn rewards, and for parents to spend quality time with their children.
    I also LOVE the isle at Freddys that has a mixture of inexpensive toys that can entertain for hours (and they entertain my children also once my husband hands them over!)

    Reply

  3. Taryn
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 22:41:44

    We’re still a sugar-free house, so we’ll probably just go for extra hugs and kisses today.
    p.s. your kindergartener is hilarious :)

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Feb 14, 2012 @ 13:13:49

      Taryn, Sugar free? Wow! Like all sugar or just treats? Good for you! And thanks, my boy cracks me up.

      Reply

      • Taryn
        Feb 14, 2012 @ 15:51:49

        sugar-free as we can get, for now while Charlotte still has no idea that she’s missing out. This of course does not include my secret chocolate stash :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 359 other followers

