Nuggets of Truth

Okay, folks. By now, you’ve seen this picture of the pink goo somewhere on Facebook. It’s gross. The accompanying mass-hysteria post claims it’s what chicken nuggets are made of. As a journalist, I really wanted to know: is this real?

Here’s what Snopes says: Mechanically Separated Poultry (MSP) has not been allowed in McDonald’s Chicken McNuggets since 2003, when all white meat began being used.

So… although it’s gross to look at and we all know McDonald’s isn’t the healthiest choice… this is not what our kids are being fed at the drive thru. At least not at McDonald’s. MSP is allowed in other chicken nuggets, hot dogs and frozen dinners. Yum.

Since we’re talking truth… my third grader got busted at school yesterday for cheating. And, if the cheating wasn’t bad enough, she then proceeded to lie to her teacher about it. We had a long talk about how this is not okay.

She asks me, “Mom, can you help me? Can you teach me how not to lie?”

I say, “Just choose to tell the truth. It’s as simple as that.”

She responds, “Every time I open my mouth, the lies just come out.”

We’ve been experiencing the same problem with my kindergartener. And, I’m sure if my toddler could speak coherently, he’d probably lie too. My friends say their kids do the same thing.

My question for you folks: how do you get your child to stop lying?

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn Miller
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 13:04:21

    To get my kids to stop lying I started charging them a quater each time they lied. Most of the time my kids lie to dad not mom because mom knows each one of thier “tells”. I have been know to peak around the corner and say “Why don’t you tell dad the true because I know you are not telling the truth.”
    BUT with my God-son what was a habital lier, after trying and trying and trying to figure something out I placed a bible in his lap and said “Do not move until you find in the bible where it says its not okay to lie. He was there for 8 hours before he found it.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jan 25, 2012 @ 19:55:06

      Ooh Jenn, wow! 8 hours! That’s tough love. :) It really takes something stern to get them to figure it out, doesn’t it? The quarter idea just might work too…

      Reply

  2. Peggy
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 13:09:15

    Offer rewards/incentives for no lying. It works for us.
    My oldest has a *huge* problem with lying. She also absolutely loves to sleep over at friends’ home and have friends sleep over. That’s her incentive. I’ve told her that if she doesn’t lie to us all week, she can sleep over at a friend’s home or have a friend over.
    Now, since we have more than one child, like you, sometimes a lie could come from either one while the other is truthful about the same thing. For example, let’s say you noticed there’s kool-aid in the dog’s water bowl. You ask who did it and both kids say “not me!” Obviously, one of them is lying. In an instance like this, I tell both kids no sleepovers for a month for either one of them. But if the guilty party confesses, the guilty party is down to one weekend without sleepovers while the truthful one is off the hook. We’ve been using this method for several years and it has always worked (well, except for the one time when my husband’s cell phone was missing and it finally took me threatening to have to file a police report that she finally told the truth that she stole it, but that’s another story for another time).

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jan 25, 2012 @ 19:53:52

      Peggy, funny! I hope we never have to get to the threat of calling the cops stage! But, they have to learn lying is not okay, right? Who else is going to teach them?! I like your plan on the lessened sentence for the confessor. :)

      Reply

  3. grdnbug
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 13:12:49

    I have several kids and simply reduce punishments for the truth. I stop and take the time to listen non- threateningly to them I ask for the truth and help them relax and tell it. Then I tell them the punishment of they hadn’t told the truth and I give some minor punishment instead. It won’t take long for them to develop an open honest communication everyday.

    Reply

  4. vandah
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 13:28:44

    One of the best stories to tell children who lie is the story of The LIttle Boy who Cried Wolf…it’s a clever story about the consequences of lying- and how it can later impact their ability to be trusted down the road.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jan 25, 2012 @ 19:51:26

      Vandah, I was just thinking the same exact thing! In fact, I just replied to Cora saying that. I need to find that book, but every time I look for it at the library it’s some weird, twisted version of it. Back to the basics, people!

      Reply

    • Tara
      Jan 26, 2012 @ 04:57:07

      I totally agree. We try to read that to our boys as often as we can and even make it one of my 1st grader’s reading assignments. (Along w/ “Never, Ever Talk to Strangers.) After reading we discuss the story…over & over again…it’s starting to sink in…I think… :o)

      Reply

  5. Cora's Blog
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 13:32:54

    Okay, so I have 5 kids ranging from 18 to 18 mos (yes, sounds crazy). One child told the truth about 90% of the time while another told the truth about 10%. You have to know your child to realize how to handle the situation with lying. But I can say I always gave them one chance to “come clean” with a reduced sentence and made sure they realize that if they choose to continue to lie the punishment would be much more severe because of their lying. For example, I would say, I really don’t care that you put kool-aid in the dogs water bowl and would just ask you to clean it up, however if you are going to lie to me about it, then you will be grounded for a week. If you fess up now, I won’t be mad and you need to clean it up.

    My one child who lies is now in his teens and needs me to back him up on things. When I question what he says he said why don’t you believe me. OH THE I TOLD YOU SO I got to give him!!! He is now learning that lesson of lying, but it took that long for him to catch on!!!

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jan 25, 2012 @ 19:50:19

      Cora, I’ve been trying to remember the story of the little boy who cried wolf. I think that might help her understand. The lying drives me nuts!!!

      Reply

  6. erin
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 15:58:09

    My 6 year old has been lying ALOT latley over big things and small things, usally something small that turns big because he lied, so we found that taking away certian privleges and or making him write sentences is really effective. if it is a situation at school, he has to take the sentences to his teacher and have her sign them.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jan 25, 2012 @ 19:48:25

      Erin, I like the having the teacher sign them thing. I make her write a letter to her teacher. That’s happened twice now. Hopefully that’s all it will take…

      Reply

  7. Momma
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 16:15:32

    OK, coming from an Early Childhood Development background here’s what I can tell you: Kids sometimes don’t even know they’re lying. Until the age of about 8 or 9 (on average) kids just don’t know that some things are NOT true. Say, Santa Clause. (BTW, are you LYING and telling them there IS a Santa? Cause I am!) Anyway, sometimes in young children, what they “want” to believe becomes the “truth” to them, because they have gone over it so many times in their heads that it’s just second nature to them. Anyway, that’s what ‘the books’ say.

    Now, coming from a parental background, our youngest is 8. She lies about certain things, but hasn’t really gotten any big ones yet. She knows, because we have DRILLED it in her, that if she lies, she gets disciplined. However you do it is fine. We usually take away something she REALLY REALLY wants. Like reading time, or Computer time, or visiting friends, or playing outside (ha). The oldest, (15 yrs) has never had a problem lying either. He was so easy going he made us want to have like 10 kids. But our middle daughter (my step-daughter -12 yrs) lies, LiEs, LIES all the time. I don’t know if it’s for attention, or what. Holy cow, she lies. So, we don’t know if it’s because she was raised mostly at her mom’s or what, but we have to nip it in the bud, and she spends the first week or so back grounded with no cell phone or computer time, until she knows WE mean BUSINESS. So, in any case, good luck. We struggle all the time, but all you can do is show that you’re serious about lying, and that it is wrong. Hopefully they grow up and understand! Otherwise, they grow up to be politicians.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jan 25, 2012 @ 19:47:34

      Momma, You crack me up! I’m trying to nip this lying thing now. She’s nine. I can’t imagine what life will be like for her/us as a teenager if she keeps this up… Please no… not a politician!!!

      Reply

  8. Taryn
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 23:38:47

    Hmm, fast food restaurants cover up the truth about what’s in the food/your kid covers up the truth about cheating on a test: I think I see a connection.

    It’s so hard to teach our kids about honesty when at the same time we have to teach them not to (always) trust politicians, the media, big corporations, etc. sigh…

    Reply

  9. skellyfamily
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 13:09:55

    I have two kids 8 (boy) and 5 (girl), we caught them lying. I scolded them when they lied and told them that Mom and Dad won’t get mad if you tell the truth. We just want to know.

    Since we believe Jesus is our Saviour (others are not-do respect them), I told them that only two things to choose either you go to Satan who done lots of bad things (this and that) and to choose Jesus where we can live eternally- happy and we can have everything we wanted to. I dont think this is a threat for them but this is the truth that I am telling them. My 5 year old knew that there is no real Santa and even toothfairy. I just told them that it is fun to believe that there is and so you can earn some money from it…I let my kids to choose and they keep choosing to be with Jesus because they wanted to be happy and live eternally.

    One thing we did to the kids, we gave them allowance every week. They are homeschooled kids. They are going to spend this allowance for toys, buying chocolates every time we go to the store which we are not willing to buy, something they wanted to. There is one time that my son wanted to buy a lego mindstorms and that -it is not cheap. So we made a deal with him, if he saved up 150 and we are going to put another 150+ to buy for that. My son never have any new toy for 15 weeks and everytime he went to the toy aisle and showed it to me that cool toy and we reminded him that it is gonna another 3 weeks to add for your wait for you to get the lego mindstorm. He returned the toy to the shelf without any fuss and kept tellling us that I will buy that after lego mindstorms. I said, this is cool. It saved us money and saved us all the fuss where I can see those fuss from other kids…..

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jan 26, 2012 @ 13:43:25

      Skelly Family, I agree with reminding them why they need to be good. I constantly use the line “God says to honor thy mother and thy father.”

      Reply

  10. Peggy
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 13:51:10

    The problem with The Boy Who Cried Wolf is that to some kids, it’s just a story…they don’t make the connection, even if you explain.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jan 26, 2012 @ 19:06:24

      Peggy- I could see that. Watch the video on the snopes thing I wrote about. Kids didn’t make the connection there either.

      Sent from my MOTOROLA ATRIX™ 2 on AT&T

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

