Who Am I?

Last week, I came home from work and saw my cousin who hadn’t seen me in a while. She noticeably stared as I took off my coat to reveal my skirt and black, knee-high boots. She hasn’t seen me dress up in a few years. Fast forward to this past weekend, as I slipped on my Mommy Uniform. It felt so foreign wearing my old yoga pants and long sleeve Tee. Just this summer, I wore my mommy uniform on pretty much a daily basis.

It’s funny how quickly you get caught up, nearly lost, in the day-to-day activities of being a mom that you forget what it’s like to be you. A mommy blogger I follow, Kalley, wrote about this the other day on her blog- Blogging While Nursing. She talked about the importance of feeling like a woman again.

Last night, my boyfriend and I watched the movie Crazy Stupid Love. Steve Carrell’s character basically comes to the realization that he’s forgotten how to be a man/husband/lover. Forgetting who he was created some serious trouble in his family life.

My question for you moms and dads is Who are you? How do you keep remembering who that person is, while you’re pulling gum out of your four-year old’s hair or wiping your toddler’s butt or telling your eight year old to pick up their coat for the 20th time? Tell me your tried and true tricks for staying you.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mae
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 13:36:10

    … by putting on those boots, Love. :o)

    Reply

  2. Allison
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 14:05:53

    “Forget what it’s like to be you” when you’re a mom? Being a mom IS what I am, what I do, my contribution to the world and my marriage. Not separate but intrinsically entwined : being a woman, wife, lover is how I got those kids anyway! That’s easy to remember. I suspect however, you’re talking about all the different hats that moms wear and making sure that our dress-up hats (and outfits!) get used on a regular basis, especially for those that do not work outside the home. It’s good for the kids to see mom dressed up and heading out so we make sure to do that. If we have plenty of money, we see a show with dinner ; if we have a little money, we curl up with lattes ; if we have no money, we pretend we do and window shop with a homemade picnic or hit a trail for a few hours. Mothering is a time-honored profession that makes the world a better place ; no job is more important (not UNimportant ; just not More Important.). Let’s rock those yoga pants, ladies!

    Reply

  3. Cash
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 14:06:03

    I thought Carrell’s problems started when his wife skipped out on him instead of addressing her concerns with him like a responsible adult, or ya know, a real human being. But hey, blame Steve for losing himself in the task of raising his kids and working hard enough to keep a roof over their collective heads, the schmuck.

    Reply

  4. Anne Marie
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 14:32:13

    hmmm. Let’s see I’ve got spit up and a nice dish soap stain on my shirt. I’m typing one handed b/c my baby’s in my other arm. Hair’s in a pony tail however it is clean does that count? I guess I’m looking for some inspiration here myself …

    Reply

  5. erin
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 18:10:51

    I think that person is stuck back in 2005 when my first child was born, with a 6 year old son and 3 year old twin daughters, it seems like I don’t have time for a “me” day, while my son is at school and my girls are down for an afternoon rest (they never nap for me) I try to get a relaxing moment then. I am hapy tho, happier than i have ever been, although a girls night out sounds absolutley wonderful!! :)

    Reply

  6. Mary
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 22:18:24

    As a grandma of 14 now, and great-grandma of 3, I honestly don’t remember even ever thinking about how to stay me! Not even when the 4 youngest of my 7 kids were still under 6 years old all at the same time. Just thought about taking care of what needed to be done. And I managed a career and a couple of graduate degrees in the meantime — plus a whole lot of adventures along the way

    Reply

  7. Kara
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 17:32:26

    With my kids, I’ve had to operate in crisis mode for so long that that’s how I identofy myself anymore – the mom with the sick kids, the mom with all the drama, the mom who keeps going every day even when all she wants to do is crawl in a hole. I actually have real problems when I am NOT in the midst of a crisis – depression, forgetfulness, the inability to make simple decisions… So my goal right now is to remeber how to relax, how to spend time with myself again. Rather than using my birthday money for something for the kids, or something practical like paying a bill, I am actually treating myself to a facial, massage, and pedicure tomorrow (thank you AK Rewards for an awesome deal!), sans children, to see if I can actually relax for an hour and leave some stress behind. Should be an interesting day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 359 other followers

