Noisy Toys and Circumcision

First things first, I’m aware these two things naturally do not go together. But, they are the two things on my mind right now.

I’m just getting home from my eight year old daughter’s play. Remember “Mars, Mars, we’re going to Mars?” Yeah… it’s even more stuck in my head now. However, it may be leaving my brain soon as my five-year old son has gotten ahold of a noise maker. Every blow with that thing drives another chunk of brain matter out… Grr! Noisy toys. That particular toy may have a tragic accident…

Now, on to circumcision. A girlfriend of mine is pregnant with her third child, her first son. She asked her female friends today what they thought about circumcision. To cut or not to cut? That is the question.

We have two boys. After our first son was born, we had him circumcised because that seemed to be the norm. It was awful. I’m starting a cold sweat just thinking about it. He had jaundice, so we were still in the hospital when he had it done. The doctor told us we could stay or go. I, of course, wanted to stay with my sweet little man. And then they strapped him to a board and broke out the biggest damn needle I’ve ever seen in my life. And then they stuck him with it in a place no infant, boy or man should be stuck. This is when I started to see stars and feel pins and needles. I couldn’t watch anymore and sat down sobbing as I listened to my baby boy wail his lungs out.

Four years later, I was pregnant and we didn’t know if we were having a boy or a girl. So, we had the talk, just in case. My midwife said she circumcised all her boys so they’d fit in better at school. You know, gym class locker rooms and all. Kids can be cruel to anyone who’s different. I thought about it but really didn’t want to put my second son through it, considering how horribly we all felt the first go round. But, my husband really wanted him to be circumcised. He had the penis, so he won that argument. Ugh. It was SO awful listening to my baby scream. Even my husband said he wished we hadn’t done it. Those who say the boys can’t feel it are full of crap.

Then there’s the whole cleaning it thing. I couldn’t even handle the bloody belly button so this was way out of my league. That little plastic cap at the tip just made me cringe. Yuck. I don’t even like picturing it.

Another thing I’ve heard moms who are against circumcision talk about is something us moms don’t really want to think about: our son’s future enjoyment of sex. Some say because you’re messing with nerve endings that chopping off the foreskin is a bad idea and will mess with their pleasure sensors in the future. I’d rather not picture either of my boys worrying about their goods in that way. I have a hard enough time (pun intended) dealing with the morning surprise in my baby boy’s diaper.

So, ladies… snip snip or no go?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    May 13, 2011 @ 06:34:31

    I have one that we had snipped, and one that is natural. I wouldn’t have the procedure done on one of my children again. Without getting into the details, our “cut” sons circumcision was botched. We shouldn’t have messed with mother nature… If my natural son wants it, he can have it done as an adult. From what I hear from other non-snipping mommas, their older, “natural” boys feel sorry for their “cut” locker room pals… apparently they look smaller!!!

    Reply

  2. Christy
    May 13, 2011 @ 08:37:28

    I have never encountered an unsnipped one. I think a great resource would be a man who had not been snipped as a kid and chose to do it as an adult…it would be cool to hear the differences and see if the pleasure argument holds water from someone who’d experienced it both ways. I did think a lot about it when I was pregnant both times, I was relieved not to have had to make the decision.

    Reply

    • T
      May 16, 2011 @ 05:19:18

      I’m a guy that was circumcised as an adult as I do live in a country where circumcision isn’t carried out at birth. I do think babes should be left intact, then they can decide when they’re old enough. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with preferring a circumcised penis, but I think the choice should be up to the owner, and his partner in long term relationship should also have a say.
      My reasons for doing it were about increasing sexual stamina and about aesthetics, and my fiance also prefers a circumcised penis.

      MOMLAND NOTE– THIS COMMENT HAS BEEN EDITED FOR CONTENT. IF YOU’D LIKE THE WHOLE THING, PLEASE LET ME KNOW AND I WILL EMAIL IT TO YOU.

      Reply

  3. KalleyC
    May 13, 2011 @ 15:47:56

    My husband and I are currently talking about this in case we have a son. I said I don’t want him cut, he said he doesn’t mind if our son is snipped. Not for the right reasons though, my husband is just too freaked out about pulling back skin in order to change a diaper.

    In the end though, if we do have a son, I’m going to opt to not have him cut. I can’t stand knowing that one of my kids are in pain and there is nothing I could do about it. I agree with Amy, if our future son wants it, he can get it as an adult.

    Reply

  4. Amy
    May 14, 2011 @ 00:34:02

    You know, I was expecting my “natural” boy to require a little extra cleaning…but my midwife said not to do anything. She said the foreskin is fused initially, and shouldn’t be pushed back anyhow. Apparently it will separate naturally when he’s older, and by that point he’ll be able to do any cleaning himself. :)

    Reply

  5. Angela
    May 14, 2011 @ 15:33:04

    We chose to circumcise our son for 3 reasons: one, so he would fit in at school, two, so in the event he ever saw Daddy he wouldn’t wonder why he was different down there and three, apparently the risk of catching STD’s is much lower when the penis is snipped.
    It WAS hard seeing him strapped to that board, but he actually didn’t cry at all. I was a little worried that he couldn’t feel pain, ha ha!!

    Reply

  6. Kara
    May 14, 2011 @ 20:52:06

    I had all three of my boys cut. I had a couple of reasons for it, one because it’s what I’m used to, two because their dad is cut, three because the only 2 guys I ever dated that weren’t cut as babies had such HORRIBLE horror stories that they actually made me sick to my stomach to hear them. I was in the room for 2 of the 3 procedures, and frankly, yeah, the screaming was bad, but it was no worse than getting shots (Abby gets Synagis shots monthly, and I have been told by everyone that they hurt something awful. She cries more at those shots than any of my boys did for their circumcision, and I have to get her shots over and over again. At least the circ is a one time deal.) My youngest is the only one who ever had an issue. As soon as the doctor handed him back to me I told her she hadn’t cut enough, She got all huffy and offended, gave me the “I’m the doctor I know what I’m doing” speech and left. I was right though – so now he’s kind of halfway in between being cut and not. The older he gets the better it gets, but he still has to pay more attention and take more care with cleaning than his brother. Just with the hassle involved with his, I’m sooo glad I had them all cut.

    Reply

  7. Anne
    May 17, 2011 @ 06:31:22

    I am going to have to make this decision in a month or so when our son is born so I’m definitely weighing all the options. I’m learned today that it is standard practice to use no local anesthetic of any kind on the poor boy. This blows my mind! Just because hethat amazes me

    Reply

  8. Momx5kidz
    May 23, 2011 @ 18:14:57

    Noisy toys? I call those “sandbox toys” because once they hit the sandbox they will never make noise again! Yep…figured that one out very early on when FOUR little ones were all playing with noisy toys. And do you want to disown those “thoughtful” (I’m being nice today) friends and relatives who gave them those noisy toys?

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Waiting for Pain « Mom Land
  10. A Jewish Male Opposing Circumcision
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 06:31:51

    …. There is a movement of Jews who are questioning circumcision, and working to end this abuse of children. The movement ranges from the Orthodox to the secular, and includes mothers, fathers, scholars, historians, medical professionals, activists, and intellectuals.

    Jewish Groups for Genital Integrity

    * Brit Shalom Celebrants by Mark D. Reiss, M.D. http://www.circumstitions.com/Jewish-shalom.html

    * Questioning Circumcision: A Jewish Perspective by Ron Goldman, Ph.D. http://www.jewishcircumcision.org

    * The Current Judaic Movement to End Circumcision: Part 1

    http://intactnews.org/node/105/1311886372/jewish-voices-current-judaic-movement-end-circumcision-part-1

    Circumcision: A Jewish Feminist Perspective by Miriam Pollack

    http://www.noharmm.org/pollack.htm

    Jewish Intactivist Miriam Pollack has some great commentary on Foreskin Man in this recent interview.

    http://www.beyondthebris.com/2011/07/defying-convention-interview-with_27.html

    Jews Speak Out in Favor of Banning Circumcision on Minors
    http://intactnews.org/node/103/1311885181/jews-speak-out-favor-banning-circumcision-minors ………….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

