Bimbo Barbie: How to make your daughter a Slut

My eight year old daughter has been mad at me for years. The reason? I won’t let her have a Bratz doll. She and my five year old son constantly ask me why why why she can’t have one. Is there a nice way to say “because they look like sluts” ? Instead, I tell them I do not approve of the dolls and that they are inappropriate. “Inappropriate,” by the way, is a common word in my house. It gets used when my son wants to grab his goods while watching tv or when my daughter wants to describe, in gruesome detail and during dinner, how a fish died in the tank at the local Chinese restaurant.

“Inappropriate” doesn’t even begin to describe the series of dolls I saw in the toy department of the local supermarket yesterday. Here’s one of them from the Monster High series.

 Um, hello?! It’s for kids ages 6+. Huh. So, six is the entry level age for slut school, eh? How is this possibly okay? Is this what we want our little girls to aspire to be?

And don’t even get me started on the clothes that are targeted to our young daughters. Do they need little pants with the word “juicy” on the rump or shirts that say “you wish” and “WANTED: boy toy?” What are we teaching them?

Now, I’m no saint. I remember putting on a too tight/ too short little black dress one day for school while my mom was out of town. But, I was in high school, which is slightly less disturbing than a second grader with a face full of make up and an attitude to match. And, what I wore to high school that day many moons ago is down right Plain Jane compared to what I saw the teenage girls wearing when I taught high school last year. They should make a giant scrap of fabric with its sole purpose of covering adolescent cleavage. Ick.

Moms and Dads, is it okay for your kids to play with Bimbo Barbie or to dress from the Skank Junior line?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lamgold
    May 02, 2011 @ 21:40:44

    Well done, Mom! Stick to your guns. We were always very careful about what we put on our girls even when they were very little. They’ve never owned a bikini, and never will! Teach them to be modest young, and it will stick. Now, my girls are modest to a fault. I love that, but what with all the layering of tanks and tees, my laundry basket runneth over. I’ll take it!

    Reply

  2. lamgold
    May 02, 2011 @ 21:41:29

    How is H, by the way? Tell her Mrs. Mongold says hi :) (not that she remembers me)

    Reply

  3. KalleyC
    May 05, 2011 @ 02:13:21

    Oh never ever. I already explained to my family that there will be no barbie, and no bratz in my home, and I am prepared to add more dolls and toys to the list. Toy companies may say one thing about what’s okay for a child to play with, but at the end of the day, its the parents that buys the toys.

    I applaud you! Stick to your decisions. They don’t understand now, but they will appriciate it later.

    Reply

  4. DanielB
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 18:32:46

    Not letting her have one is the sure why to make her a slut, for a while anyway. When she becomes a teenager she will rebel like any teenager and then she will try to do all the things you don’t approve off. After that is over they will become more or less like you.

    A doll will not have the kind of impact you give it credit for. The important thing is that you set a good example with your marriage. Girls who has a dad that loves them, parents who are married and love each other and are responsible is what’s important.

    Tale of a slut: Daddy left when I was young and mom drinks too much. When I was sixteen I met this guy and at first he seemed really cool with his car and shades and hair products, but he turned out to be a ****, then I met this other guy and, blahblahblah… Oh and did I mention how my favorite uncle always let me come over and play when I was little, he always wanted me to sit in his lap, he was so sweet to me…

    Just give them a good and loving family and you’re worries are over, it’s as simple as that. Parents and their obsession with toys are ridicules, I played with my little pony when I was a kid, does that make me gay?

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Mar 01, 2013 @ 15:48:20

      DanielB, I don’t think playing with a doll makes you gay. My boys like to play with dolls – it’s nurturing. However, I find those Bratz dolls to be a very poor example of what my daughter should strive to look like. I do like your advice – give them a good and loving family. Doing that, for sure. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 359 other followers

